Not My Beauty Queen

April 27, 2009 at 10:21 am (Uncategorized)

Carrie Prejean here is your 15 minutes. Be careful though, whatever you say can and will be used against you in a court of public opinion.

Perez Hilton
Opposite Marriage
Politically Charged Question
Second Runner Up

All these names and phrases that I never would have given a second thought to are being hurled in my direction.

Who elected Carrie Prejean to be the voice for protecting marriage and how can we recall her?

I remember the bumper stickers and T-shirts of W’s face in mid-dufus appearance with the words “Not my president” printed on them. Those always disgusted me because it was a demonstration that the wearer had no concept of respect for the elected officials and the process by which they are elected.
While I admit I feel like making senator Boxer or Fienstien t-shirts in similar fashion I realize that the reality is that they ARE my Senators and I have to work within those rules.

But when it comes to a pop-icon being forcibly labeled as my representative through a completely non-democratic process I get really ticked off.

And that’s where we are today.

It’s been a little over a week since the Miss USA pageant forced its way back into relevancy with the most contrived controversy since Don Immus and if you haven’t taken sides don’t worry, they’ve already picked one out for you.

In this corner weighing in at 118 pounds we have the new, unblemished face of the Christian Right Wing Conspiracy… Miss Carrie Prejean!

And in this corner weighing in at a slightly pudgy 192 pounds we have the new, lisp-accented voice of the Radical Left Wing Conspiracy… Mr Perez Hilton!

Yup Left and Right have brand new champions. Of course the Left’s champion isn’t new, he just finally found a way to be listened to. That way was by picking a fight with the new Miss Right. And the new Miss Right would have never been Miss Right if she had been able to put together a cognitive response. I guess that’s why she has been chosen to be Miss Right.

I am not a fan of Miss Right.

I really do not want her representing me.

Let’s break it down…

First of all there is the answer to the question, “Vermont recently became the fourth state to allow same-sex marriage. Do you think that other states should follow suit, why or why not?”

“Well I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one or the other. We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage. And you know what? In my country and in my family, I think that I believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman. No offense to anybody out there but that’s how I was raised and that’s how I think that it should be between a man and a woman.”

I have to be honest and somewhat agree with Perez Hilton… This answer is terrible. Mostly because it failed to answer the question but worse than that, what she had to say was contradictory.

First of all she tried really hard to say something PC with her “I think it’s great that we live in a land where you can choose.” comment. You would think that this half of her answer would be satisfactory to Mr. Left. Don’t they want to be permitted the freedom to choose whatever gender they would like and have it be considered marriage?

Evidently the second half of her answer though was the only thing that people want to focus on… “I think that I believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman… [because] that’s how I was raised.”

Letting slide the “I think I believe” and focusing on the reason for her thinking she believes as “that’s how I was raised.”

I don’t want someone representing me because they were raised a certain way. I want someone representing me who understands why they believe what they believe and why they were raised a certain way and most importantly why something is right and why something is wrong.

I loathe the fact that Miss Right is now making the media rounds taking pride in her inconsistent, irrational answer.

What bothers me is that we share so much in common.
1. We are both beautiful
2. We are both from San Diego
3. We are both Padres fans
4. We both claim to be Christians

So you might think that I would be proud for her to represent me. But with every new interview I see of her I cringe. Every new article in the paper that she is speaking at a church, or on a talk show or whatever makes me feel like I’m getting robbed of my voice.

I wonder if the Left feels the same way about Mr. Left. How can they be happy to be represented by such a nincompoop? Within moments of the pageant finishing he was making youtube videos calling Miss Right some of the foulest things you can describe a woman as. And he’s glamorized for it? He clearly violated the ethical guidelines of pageant judging and has used this platform for self-promotion. Is that the kind of person the left wants representing them?

I think I believe that the problems our nation is facing can all be summarized in this micro sampling of pop-politics.

Problem #1 Nodody gives any real thought to why they believe what they believe.

Problem #2 There is an automatic stereotyping attached to pseudo-celebrities that is supposed to be indicative of the whole.

Problem #3 That aforementioned stereotyping is exacerbated when those representatives make mistakes (which they are more prone to do with magnifying glasses on them).

Problem #4 There is a two-fold problem of people allowing the representatives to represent them and of people who are unwilling to have the representatives representing them to get out from under that representation.

Problem #5 There is no tolerance for freedom of speech on either side.

Can anyone disagree that these problems are real and that they are in fact problems? How can we put an end to this?

If it weren’t for youtube, facebook, twitter etc. perhaps this debate would have never surfaced.

But while the blogosphere appears to be the great cause of this quandary is it possible that the blogosphere is also the solution?

Can we, through the continual publishing of our own voice, be able to breakdown the false representatives over us?

It seems pretty hopeless when I check my stat sheet but I really don’t know what else to do.

Suggestions?

9 Comments

  1. itsasecret2u said,

    “I think it’s great that Americans can choose – plastic surgery, or un-plastic surgery, naked photos, or clothed photos. With liberty and justice and lucrative modeling careers for all!”

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/30576251/

  2. danielbalc said,

    It certainly isn’t surprising that this girl has flaws (not physically but morally), which is part of the reason why I didn’t want her representing me. But let me be clear it isn’t the plastic surgery or nude modeling that bothers me so much. It’s that she isn’t an articulate/logical/persuasive voice on the subject.

    She doesn’t know what she is talking about. She simply knows how she was raised.

    The irony of how she was raised (no gay marriage; yes nude modeling) is just another opportunity for the stereotyping of celebrities to become the standard for us all.

    Such a bummer too because this would have been a great platform to get out the truth about what marriage really is all about.

  3. itsasecret2u said,

    I concur. I feel pretty bad for her, actually. She’s thrust herself under the microscope by her comment, which was so wishy-washy that I’m surprised it was at all controversial, honestly. And now she’ll suffer for it. This is just the first scandal involving our bumbling beauty queen that we’ll hear about, I’m sure. Yay. :-/

  4. itsasecret2u said,

    Man, you should have posted this on Facebook instead. All the good arguments are to be had there, it seems. 🙂

  5. danielbalc said,

    Yup. it’s sad. I prefer the blog more than the book but I’m afraid few people come to the den anymore.

  6. itsasecret2u said,

    I visit the Den often, if only to check for any non-sports posts. I always want to encourage all the non-sports posts, but I agreed with everything you wrote on this one, so I didn’t have much to say about it. Maybe try inviting our JAMmer from FB to your next controversial post. 😉

  7. danielbalc said,

    Possible idea. I seriously am at a loss for how quickly the conservative christian right wing agenda has adopted this woman. It’s crazy.

    Actually it’s embarrassing. Are we so desperate that we will take anyone who even remotely embodies our message?

    Oh wait, John McCain… I guess we are!

  8. Aunt Beth said,

    I love Ann Coulter’s take on this (and everything else) http://www.anncoulter.com/.

  9. danielbalc said,

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/thedishrag/2009/11/carrie-prejean-warns-women-not-to-make-sex-tapes-because-they-may-get-famous.html

    Once again I stand by my comments that this woman doesn’t represent me.

    I’m sickened to hear that these “conservative” talking heads like Rush, Hannity and Coulter are still defending her.

    She’s a bimbo who is playing the victim card for profit.

    There is NOTHING conservative about that.

Leave a Reply

