2008 Elections: What I care about. part 2

November 3, 2008 at 10:20 am (Politics thoughts)

Way back in January I wrote a post about what I care about in this upcoming election. Well that election is in a few hours so here is the scorecard of my issues and how the top 2 candidates rank…

1. Illegal Immigration

This past weekend another 10 people were executed in TJ. Several of them were decapitated. The drug and human trafficking that our government has done little to try and curb has led to over 200 murders in the past 2 months. All within a 2 hour drive of my house. And these guys want amnesty for illegal immigrants? These guys want open borders?

Disgusting. Both candidates have been basically silent on the issue of immigration, probably because both of them are cowards and are afraid of alienating the Latino vote.

Score-

Obama: 0

McCain -3 for a track record of pro-illegal legislation in the senate.

2. Economy

These two bumbling idiots both voted for the bailout. They both have advisers who have been high up in the most corrupt finance companies. They both allowed the ridiculous housing bubble to grow and grow while they sat around in the senate doing diddly. Obama’s solution of raising the captial gains tax and allowing people to withdraw without penalty from their 401 K is a surefire killer for the stock market. McCain’s idea of buying distressed mortgages at the price they were paid for is quite possibly the worst idea since the Hindenburg.

Score-

Obama: -2 for his fannie and freddie friends and increasing taxes.

McCain: -2 for his buy-back idea.

3. National Security

Obama is certainly the choice of Iran, Venezuela and Russia. He was clearly wrong on the Iraq troop surge, and his VP candidate predicts the world will test him on purpose. Oh yeah he also wants to cut the military funding. McCain seems strong on defending the US but since he refuses to do anything about our actual borders it’s difficult to believe him.

Score-

Obama: -4

McCain: 1 for his previous service in the military.

4. Judicial Integrity

Activist Judges have really screwed up California by somehow interpreting the California Constitution as awarding the rights of homosexual to marry one another. This is a terrible raping of the constitution that has caused a necessary vote on adding an amendment to our bill of rights.

When you read the constitution the only areas of life that are protected are race, gender, color, creed, ethnicity, national origin. Your sexual impulses are not protected by the constitution. Validating your perverse desires is not a part of the constitution. But all you need is a couple of corrupt judges and everything goesΒ  crazy. We need judges who aren’t interested in writing their own laws. Where do McCain and Obama stand on this?

Score-

Obama: -2 for having a history of promoting radical ideals and a high likelihood of appoint judges who share such viewpoints.

McCain: -1 for his response that he would never “put a litmus test” on a judicial candidate. That’s your job! Have standards!

5. Financial Freedom

I touched on this a bit with the economy but the fact is both of them want my money. Obama wants more than McCain and Obama’s health care plan will, IMO lead to the same type of financial nightmare that we experienced with AIG nearly bankrupting. Mandatory insurance leads to financial ruin.

Score-

Obama: -3

McCain: 0

6. Educational Fairness

Both of them claim to support school vouchers, but I really want to hear one of them say that the federal government will withdraw all funding for public education. The wholesale brainwashing of our children will only continue.

Score-

Obama: -1 for all the crazy video of brainwashed kids already on youtube.

McCain: 1 for being more forceful with regards to vouchers.

7. Abortion

Obama is a radical pro-abortionist. He has zero concern for the wholesale extermination of human life. This kind of blatant disregard for public health cannot be ignored. McCain has a history of being pro-life but was on record as saying he would not use abortion stance as a test on supreme court justice nominations.

Score-

Obama: -5

McCain: 1

8. Honesty

Obama looks to me like a liar who will say anything to get elected. During the final debate when McCain asked him about his associations with ACORN and Ayers the look on his face and his subsequent glossy response were despicable. Obama is an elitist who is pandering to the welfare class. He’s a darker version of Bill Clinton. His acceptance of private money after saying he wouldn’t is horrible. McCain seems desperate. His little campaign suspension stunt was ridiculous. His selection of Palin, IMO also seems to be a publicity stunt.

Score:

Obama: -2

McCain:-1

Final score…

Obama -19

McCain -6

yuck

21 Comments

  1. danielbalc said,

    So it was raining (as much “rain” as we get in Poway), this morning when i went over to my polling station. It was 7:10 AM and the line was about 20 people deep. It got longer as I moved along and by the time I’d finished I’d say there was about 30 people in line, in the cold, in the rain (ok fine drizzle).

    That’s pretty remarkable for our little polling station.

    While I won’t endorse any candidate by telling you who I voted for I will tell you how I voted for the propositions.

    1A- Money for a rail system. NO Bad timing with the earler train crash but also bad location. California is a car place. That’s how we roll.
    2- More room for chickens and pigs. NO I don’t care how my food is raised. I just don’t want my food costing 1cent more per egg.
    3- Money for Children’s Hospitals. NO Children’s hospitals have the easiest time earning donations. I don’t want to have to finance them. Most of the advertising for this prop came from children’s hospitals. I don’t get it. If you have all this money to spend on advertising why do you need more money from the state?
    4- Parental notification for minors who want an abortion. YES Parents have to give approval for kids to buy certain video games, get their ears pierced and allow kids to watch certain movies. Shouldn’t we also have reasonable standards on when they decide to kill their babies? But wait there’s more. This isn’t even a law on parental consent. It’s merely a law of parental notification. It simply provides that a child must wait until 48 hours to get an abortion after having informed a parent or legal guardian.This is a really simple law.
    5- Nonviolent drug rehabilitation- NO. I don’t believe that “rehab” is the most effective way to deter criminals. I believe in the death penalty.
    6- An extra billion for police- NO. They are already earning an extra billion per year from those stupid red light cameras.
    7- Renewable energy requirements for utilities- NO. Go Nuclear. It’s that simple. build more nuclear power plants. I don’t understand the willingness to invest billions into wind farms when climate change could conceivably stop all wind from blowing. Or Solar farms. Because when the win stops blowing all the clouds will cover the sun and we won’t be able to get any energy from all our investments. Go nuclear!
    8- Define marriage as between and man and a woman- YES. Amending the state constitution is a right that we have. Redefining institutions such as marriage and family is not a right. We should recall the judges who made this mess.
    9- Victims bill of rights. NO. this seems like adding on to what is already on the books.
    10- Alternative Fuel bond. NO. My tax dollars shouldn’t be used to help anyone buy a car. That’s idiotic. Especially cars that I hate seeing on the road, like “smart” cars. no. no. no. If you want to buy a car buy it with your own money. The state needs to stop funding “research” and let private enterprise lead the way.
    11- Redistricting by independent commission. YES. Redistricting is a necessary reality but leaving it up to the people who need their voting base is not wise.
    12- Veterans bond act. NO. I don’t understand why people who heal sick animals would need more money to buy farms. That’s weird.

    So there you go. That is how I voted on the propositions. The ones that bother me the most are 7 and 10. I am so sick of public funding for what should be private enterprise. and I’m even more sick of how many people mindlessly support it. Yes alternative energy is a good thing. High fuel economy is a good thing. but NO it should not be funded by the government (er TAX PAYERS).

    Stop giving out money. if it’s a good idea it will thrive in the free market. If it’s a bad idea we shouldn’t be supporting it with our dollars.

  2. Matt said,

    Here is a good rule of thumb.

    If a proposition has to do with spending money on something we the tax payers are going to pay for it no matter how they try to sugar coat it or hide it.

    If you like paying taxes and want to pay more vote yes, if not vote no.

  3. itsasecret2u said,

    I’m shocked and disappointed that you did not heed Lindsay Lohan’s advice on Props 4 & 8, and I suspect on the presidential candidate.

    http://www.usmagazine.com/news/lindsay-lohan-makes-final-plea-vote

  4. danielbalc said,

    As for who I voted for president let me just say this…

    When i went to starbucks to get my free cup of coffee they asked if I would like room for cream. I replied, “No thank you, I like my coffee like I like my candidates.”

  5. Anthony Settergren said,

    “Here is a good rule of thumb.

    If a proposition has to do with spending money on something we the tax payers are going to pay for it no matter how they try to sugar coat it or hide it.

    If you like paying taxes and want to pay more vote yes, if not vote no.”

    Kind of like that stupid Petco Park.

  6. danielbalc said,

    i didn’t pay any taxes for petco park πŸ™‚

  7. Aunt Beth said,

    Note to one of my favorite nephews – I did not make the Petco Park comment. -ab-

  8. Bruce S. said,

    Hey DBalc,

    I think I got it. You voted for Alan Keyes.

  9. danielbalc said,

    Here is a rundown on how i’m feeling today, the day after the election…

    1A- Passed. I voted no. What a waste of money this one is.
    2- Passed. I voted no. Price increase on my egg McMuffin. Aww man.
    3- Passed. I voted no. Sick kids rejoice! Your placebos now will cost twice as much.
    4- Failed. I voted yes. Pregnant kids rejoice! Free secret abortions whenever you want.
    5- Failed. I voted no. Prisoners, so sad. don’t do the crime if you can’t do the time.
    6- Failed. I voted no. Cops, so sad. You have to work to get paid.
    7- Failed. I voted no. I guess we’ll have to settle for greedy energy companies making money the old fashioned way: rolling blackouts!
    8- Passed. I voted yes. Biggest upset ever. More than 1 million people more than supported prop 22 in 2000. Clearly marriage does still matter to some.
    9- Passed. I voted no. This was just a confusing proposition that adds bureaucracy. But it’s tough for people to vote against something called “victims bill of rights.”
    10- Failed. I voted no. Woo Hoo! No discount for your glorified golf carts slow down the fast lane of the 15!!! Pay your 40K and enjoy your little self righteous death trap!
    11- Passed (i think). I voted yes. Maybe next we can make California NOT a winner takes all in the electoral college.
    12- Passed. I voted no. ehhhh, ok fine, here is some money for the vets. I guess a week away from veterans day helps this initiative. Really veterans day is in November?

    6 and 6.

    not too bad. I am kind of euphoric about prop 8 which counted for like 3 props. So I feel like I am 9 and 3. yeah baby!!!!

  10. Athena said,

    I agree with Matt.

    I voted no on basically anything that had to do with taxes

    PS Daniel- Veterans not Veterinarian πŸ™‚ tehehe. You’re so weird

  11. Athena said,

    What the heck is that ridiculous monster face next to my name!!! Daniel… change it for me! Change it to something cute

  12. danielbalc said,

    sorry I have no control over it. They are allegedly randomly generated, but I think they are based upon presumed temperament. I think there is a keyboard indicator that tells how harshly someone presses the keys and thus generates an appropriate icon.

  13. Matt said,

    You forgot the best news of last night, locally speaking.

    Mike Aguire lost.

  14. danielbalc said,

    Irrelevant to me. Although I admit I did kind of revel in seeing his sad face.

    I wish the SF city attorney would lose. She has already gone on record to say she will challenge the legality of prop 8.

    When will it ever stop? When will the will of the people be accepted?

  15. Athena said,

    I don’t press the keys hard!!! 😦

  16. itsasecret2u said,

    Mike Aguire lost.

    Dave has been BFFs with Jan Goldsmith’s son for, like, 20 years. So we were kind of stoked.

  17. danielbalc said,

    Guys don’t have BFF’s.

    Is he the friend that will be sleeping with Dave in the 5 star vegas resort?

  18. itsasecret2u said,

    Um, that sounds REALLY bad. And no. That would be several other friends. πŸ™‚

  19. Athena said,

    Daniel you are my BFF!

  20. itsasecret2u said,

    Guys totally have BFFs. They just don’t call it that.

  21. danielbalc said,

    Election Irony.

    It’s been nearly a week since proposition 8 passed in California by a margin of 52.3 % to 47.7% and every single day there have been huge rallies and protests by the gay community to have the will of the people once again overturned by a few judges.

    It’s been nearly a week since Barak Obama was elected president by a popular vote margin of 52.6% to 46.1% over John McCain. Imagine for a moment if every day there wre huge protests over the fact that a lawsuit challenging the eligibility of Barak Obama to run for president was thrown out. Imagine the kind of press coverage thousands of people outside the US supreme court would get if they were chanting, “The constitution demands a natural born citizen!”

    Would governor Schwarzenegger encourage them with words like this…
    “It’s unfortunate, obviously, but it’s not the end, I think that we will again maybe undo that, if the court is willing to do that, and then move forward from there and again lead in that area.”

    On Sunday, he urged backers of gay marriage to follow the lesson he learned as a bodybuilder trying to lift weights that were too heavy for him at first. “I learned that you should never ever give up. . . . They should never give up. They should be on it and on it until they get it done.”

    http://www.latimes.com/news/local/la-me-protest10-2008nov10,0,4939340.story

    my my my how the pc machine keeps on a rolling.

Leave a Reply

