Why I’m voting for Ron Paul

February 4, 2008 at 3:20 pm (Politics thoughts)

The 8 things I cared about and Ron Paul’s platform on them…

1. Illegal Immigration

I agree with this…

  • Physically secure our borders and coastlines. We must do whatever it takes to control entry into our country before we undertake complicated immigration reform proposals.
  • Enforce visa rules. Immigration officials must track visa holders and deport anyone who overstays their visa or otherwise violates U.S. law. This is especially important when we recall that a number of 9/11 terrorists had expired visas.
  • No amnesty. Estimates suggest that 10 to 20 million people are in our country illegally. That’s a lot of people to reward for breaking our laws.
  • No welfare for illegal aliens. Americans have welcomed immigrants who seek opportunity, work hard, and play by the rules. But taxpayers should not pay for illegal immigrants who use hospitals, clinics, schools, roads, and social services.
  • End birthright citizenship. As long as illegal immigrants know their children born here will be citizens, the incentive to enter the U.S. illegally will remain strong.
  • Pass true immigration reform. The current system is incoherent and unfair. But current reform proposals would allow up to 60 million more immigrants into our country, according to the Heritage Foundation. This is insanity. Legal immigrants from all countries should face the same rules and waiting periods.

2. The Economy

I agree with this…

We cannot continue to allow private banks, wasteful agencies, lobbyists, corporations on welfare, and governments collecting foreign aid to dictate the size of our ballooning budget. We need a new method to prioritize our spending. It’s called the Constitution of the United States.

3. National Security

I agree with this…

Keeping America safe and secure is about more than the size of the defense budget or the number of U.S. military personnel. An America-first defense policy understands the need to rationally assess the threats that do exist to the United States and then figure out what we can do to minimize those threats.

Don’t necessarily agree with this…

A defense policy for the United States should first seek to make Americans safer. A foreign policy of non-interventionism overseas will be the first step in reducing threats to the U.S. My policy will enable us to focus our resources where they belong: in defense of the United States and the American people. An America-first defense policy will not go abroad seeking monsters to slay, but will deter through strength and lead by example.

4. Judicial Integrity

This one comes from his section under racism…

The true antidote to racism is liberty. Liberty means having a limited, constitutional government devoted to the protection of individual rights rather than group claims. Liberty means free-market capitalism, which rewards individual achievement and competence – not skin color, gender, or ethnicity.

In a free society, every citizen gains a sense of himself as an individual, rather than developing a group or victim mentality. This leads to a sense of individual responsibility and personal pride, making skin color irrelevant. Racism will endure until we stop thinking in terms of groups and begin thinking in terms of individual liberty.

5. Financial Freedom

Specifically with regards to health care I totally agree with this…

By removing federal regulations, encouraging competition, and presenting real choices, we can make our health care system the envy of the world once again.

6. Educational Fairness

I agree with this…

Returning control of education to parents is the centerpiece of my education agenda. As President I will advance tax credits through the Family Education Freedom Act, which reduces taxes to make it easier for parents to home school by allowing them to devote more of their own funds to their children’s education.

I am committed to guaranteeing parity for home school diplomas and advancing equal scholarship consideration for students entering college from a home school environment.

7. Abortion

I agree with this…

The right of an innocent, unborn child to life is at the heart of the American ideals of liberty. My professional and legislative record demonstrates my strong commitment to this pro-life principle.

8. Honesty

This one is hard to judge. Listening to Ron Paul he seems honest enough. Out of all the candidates he seems the least power hungry. He seems the most driven to serve. doesn’t it just seem like when you look at the other candidates that they have all kinds of ulterior motives?

While Paul won’t win anything I think it’s worthwhile to vote for him. If nothing else it should tell the republican base to stop courting the “independents” and start re-courting the conservatives. I’m so sick of this idea that conservatism needs to “modernize” it’s message. That’s crap. Truth need not be compromised.

If Paul gains 10% of the vote maybe, just maybe, one of the front runners will have a revelation that says, “hey wait a second the 10% that voted for Paul is stronger than the 10% that half hearted voted for my rival. Maybe his message matters?” If they say that and adopt some of his platform I have high hopes for November.

Vote for Ron Paul

33 Comments

  1. danielbalc said,

    Sorry Bruce, no burrito for you.

    Does this come as any sort of a surprise?

  2. Matt said,

    I like Ron Paul. The most important thing for me as an individual in this big world is free enterprise, limited government and low taxes.

    I want to make as much money as I can any way I can (legally), keep as much money as I can and spend my money any way I want.

    Ron Paul stands for these things and deserves consideration.

    On a selfish, individual level, this is more important to me than foreign policy and national security.

    That being said, he has no chance to win and I don’t know if voting for him accomplishes much, but voting for any of the others is scary.

    The question is this: Is there sufficient reason to try and keep either McCain or Romney out by voting for the other? If so you have to do this. If not go ahead and “waste” a vote on Ron Paul.

  3. itsasecret2u said,

    I think I’m voting for RP too. But I come from a long, grand tradition of “wasting votes.” My dad was a big Ross Perot supporter and may have even voted for Ralph Nader… more than once.

  4. Echo_ohcE said,

    Why I’m not voting for Ron Paul: because I’m not a registered Republican, and so I can’t vote for a Republican in the CA primary.

    If he runs as a Libertarian, I’ll be voting for him in the general election.

  5. danielbalc said,

    Well at least you can vote for Barak.

  6. Albino Hayford said,

    Sigh….You are literally throwing your vote down a rabbit hole. Paul is an extremely eccentric little guy who is a poor standard bearer for his views. He has ZERO chance to win, but you will feel better after voting for him…good for you. You will have ZERO impact on the election, since he isn’t even being considered as a running mate to any of the candidates that have a chance to win.

    Why didn’t you just right my name or your own name in? Makes as much sense.

  7. danielbalc said,

    Again I say…

    If Paul gains 10% of the vote maybe, just maybe, one of the front runners will have a revelation that says, “hey wait a second the 10% that voted for Paul is stronger than the 10% that half hearted voted for my rival. Maybe his message matters?” If they say that and adopt some of his platform I have high hopes for November.

    I do not believe that Paul would make a good president. But I do think he is the truest conservative out there and I need to express conservative values to the constituency.

    I can’t do that writing in your name or my name or homer simpson.

    Fact: California will send it’s 52 electoral votes to the democratic nominee. So the only way my vote isn’t “thrown down a rabbit hole” is if I vote Obama or Clinton.

    Vote for what you believe in.

  8. Albino Hayford said,

    Vote for what you believe in?

    So I should write in “Rick Perry” or “Rick Santorum”? They aren’t viable, dude. Glad you feel better, though.

  9. Jess said,

    Everytime I see Ron Paul speak he reminds me of a mouse. He just seems mousey. Or maybe he seems cartoonish.
    I also like most of what he says, I know my vote is a “throw away” vote because I will not vote for McCain or Romney, but I think I”m leaning towards throwing it to Huckabee. But maybe at 4:00 when I go vote my hand might consider your words and vote for Paul.

  10. Pablo Honey said,

    I will be going to vote shortly and unless I have a change of heart very soon I will be voting for Romney. I don’t like Romney at all but I feel like I have to keep votes away from McCain. I would much rather vote for Paul or Huckabee but I do feel like these are wasted votes. Then again I have to agree with Daniel that all votes for Republicans in California are wasted, so maybe I’ll throw it away. I don’t ever remember feeling so uninspired to vote.

  11. danielbalc said,

    A vote for Huckabee is a vote for McCain.

    look at what just happened in West Virginia. Romney should’ve won the state but McCain told his supporters to block Romney by voting for Huckabee.

    It’s a dirty strategy but a good one.

  12. Albino Hayford said,

    I have drawn up some extended thoughts on McCain here. Go thou and do likewise.

  13. danielbalc said,

    Wow, Paul didn’t even get 5%. He finished behind Giuliani who isn’t even running! I admit I was shocked by the sheer number of republican candidates on the ballot that I had to make my way through in looking for Paul (who was at the very bottom) But I didn’t actually think people would vote for these candidates who had already withdrawn from the race.

    McCain, John GOP 947,509 42%
    Romney, Mitt GOP 760,029 34%
    Huckabee, Mike GOP 258,683 11%
    Giuliani, Rudy GOP 114,782 5%
    Paul, Ron GOP 95,869 4%
    Thompson, Fred GOP 45,381 2%
    Hunter, Duncan GOP 12,022 1%
    Keyes, Alan GOP 9,210 0%
    Tancredo, Tom GOP 3,217 0%
    Cox, John GOP 2,565 0%
    Brownback, Sam GOP 1,969

    Embarrassing. 200,000 Californians voted for guys who aren’t even running.

    Thus anyone who voted for Paul in the hopes of saying something to the front runners is silenced.

    That would be me.

    Few sights from last night were as disturbing as McCain’s plastic wife embracing his seemingly tumor -ridden neck. YIKES!

    http://www.kimatv.com/news/national/15346661.html

  14. Matt said,

    Does Huckabee have a chance if Romney bows out? I think this is the only way McCain loses the nomination, all those Romney supporters will turn to Huckabee if he quits.

    “1 in a million, so your telling me there’s a chance!”

  15. Show me the Money said,

    By the way, in California our electoral votes are not winner take all so every vote does count. Even if Huckabee gets 11% or Paul gets 4% then they will get a percentage of our electoral votes. I don’t know how many 4% will get you but it is something to think about.

    I was watching McCain’s speech last night and yes I saw the barbie doll wife and the mass on his neck but that wasn’t what really worried me about our probable Republican candidate. Did you see how he was reading the speech the whole time?He tried to move his eyes around the audience but could only do so for about two words before he had to go back and see what he needed to say next in that sentence. I thought it was one of the worst speeches I had seen in a very long time and was very discouraged.

    Also, I loved the TV coverage last night. All three (MSNBC, FOXNEWS, CNN) were covering McCain’s 7 minute speech but then Obama was starting his speech and the second he started speaking MSNBC and CNN switched to him before McCain was done. Where FoxNews stayed a little while longerwith McCain. Then they let Obama have over 20 mins of air time for his speech.

    Did anyone see FoxNews coverage and the blonde girl over Obama’s left shoulder crying over her excitement for this man? Scary stuff

  16. itsasecret2u said,

    Does anyone think there is a real chance of a Republican candidate (any of them) getting the White House this term? There just seems to be such an anti-Bush feeling in the country right now, I wonder if a lot of independents won’t be going the Democratic route… ??

  17. Matt said,

    Does anyone think there is a real chance of a Republican candidate (any of them) getting the White House this term?

    I said the same thing a while back on Albino’s blog. The only way the Republicans stand a chance in November is if they are running against Hillary.

    This will cause so many independents and fringe Republicans to come out and vote just to avoid having another Clinton in office.

    If Obama wins the nomination I see a rout.

    Did anyone see FoxNews coverage and the blonde girl over Obama’s left shoulder crying over her excitement for this man? Scary stuff

    Yea I watched this and remember thinking that is exactly why he will not make a good president. He just makes people all warm and fuzzy inside, and plays on their emotions.

    There is no substance to this guy, does anyone know what he believes and what he will do to solve problems once in office? I have no idea because he never talks about issues, just emotions and feelings.

  18. danielbalc said,

    McCain is a terrible speaker. I was joking with Albino throughout the night that he reminds me of weekend at Bernies. It’s like he died a long time ago but they are using his body as a puppet. Actually an even scarier idea from a movie is the Manchurian Candidate. McCain spent 5 and a half years as a POW in Vietnam. I don’t want to belittle his bravery or the honor he deserves , he truly is a great American hero. Then again so is Wesley Clark, and while both a brave and admirable I have every right to disagree with their policies, politics and competence.

    The idea behind the Manchurian Candidate was that a POW was brainwashed and then released to much fan fare to the degree where he parlayed his fame into a position of power (in the 2004 version he is the VP candidate). It’s a pretty cool movie and somewhat of a reasonable theory on the politics of McCain. Again i don’t think he was totally brainwashed by the communist, but I do think he developed some sympathetic ideals that give him the liberal leaning he has. And when you watch the movie and see the kind of glossed over zombie-like appearance of the brainwashed POW’s it’s eerily similar to McCain’s speaking style.

    ok ok enough conspiracy theory.

    to answer secret’s question…

    I absolutley think that any Republican candidate would (will) defeat Hillary and that NO Republican candidate could defeat Obama.

    I also think that for ever person that hates bush there is another person who hates clinton.

    But no one hates Obama and no one hates McCain, people are just disgusted with them or not impressed by them.

    This race is like the 2005 NL West. A battle of attrition. Who will be the best of the worst?

  19. danielbalc said,

    Yea I watched this and remember thinking that is exactly why he will not make a good president. He just makes people all warm and fuzzy inside, and plays on their emotions.

    His story about the “young boys throwing rocks at the abandoned building” was the lamest and most pathetic story I have ever heard. Once he got to the end and there was no point he started a chant of “yes we can” so as to distract them from the truth that he had just rambled on for 5 minutes without any point at all whatsoever.

    I agree, all rhetoric no substance.

    He’s actually running under the banner of “I don’t have any experience and that’s a good thing”.

    Huh?

  20. Matt said,

    I agree, all rhetoric no substance.

    What does it say about the intelligence level of U.S. Americans that this guy could actually be President. Miss S. Carolina is his biggest fan.

  21. Albino Hayford said,

    Something you are all missing here is that the democrats have energy, emotion and drive, while republicans are disheartened, divided and adrift. Passion, and voting for someone beat rage and voting against someone every time.

    Daniel — people voted for eliminated candidates because of early voting…no?

    Matt – Here is an Obama focus group. Watch and weep. And here’s a brief snapshot of the American voter this year.

  22. Albino Hayford said,

    Daniel…rescue my post from pergatory please

  23. danielbalc said,

    Daniel — people voted for eliminated candidates because of early voting…no?

    200,000? That number is just too big. And even if it were true my point is that Paul got fewer votes than Guiliani. Even if that was because a bunch of senior citizens mailed in their ballots a month ago I still want to know what happened to Paul voters. A mere 100,000 in California? I guess the “wasted voted” thing does indeed dissuade.

    Reality check.

    It’s not about the issues but about the exposure.

    Giuliani got more votes than Paul because more people recognized his name.
    Nobody knows anything about Paul because he never got the media exposure. Hillary and Barak are getting twice as much media coverage as the 3 GOP candidates so they are also getting twice as many votes.

    The Media wants McCain because if he’s the Republican candidate then they get a liberal in the Oval office. That’s all they want.

    That’s why he wrote his campaign finance law, that’s why he is winning.

    He is one of the most cunning and calculating presidential candidates we’ve had. He is the epitome of Washington.

  24. Matt said,

    Matt – Here is an Obama focus group. Watch and weep. And here’s a brief snapshot of the American voter this year.

    Exactly. These people are a bunch of blind sheep being lead to the slaughter. It’s almost like a cult, they love the guy but have no idea why.

    “He is a great orator, like Jesse Jackson.” This has to be one of the best lines ever.

    Those “most outrageous TV moments” shows are gold, I love watching that stuff.

  25. danielbalc said,

    No no no,

    He’s a great “oroTATER” like Jesse Jackson

  26. danielbalc said,

  27. itsasecret2u said,

    Ahhh! I’m getting Obama propaganda at my “good” email address… my junk-free one. And it’s coming from my dad! AHHH! Save me from the liberals!!!

  28. Show me the Money said,

    Alright boys and girls….Romney out opens the door for Huckabee to win this whole thing. It is a shame Romney was so rich or he never would have run in the first place and Super Tuesday would have been a totally different story.

    On a side not I am hearing that we could see a McCain-Huckabee ticket this fall. Huckabee could help McCain in the south a ton. he could also bring in some of the very conservative republicans that can’t stand McCain.

    Speaking of money, Clinton gave her campaign $5 mil to keep it alive and some of her staff are working for free in February. With the way Obama can raise money (see $4mil just online yesterday) is Clinton going to be done soon as well?

  29. danielbalc said,

    Huckabee would literally have to sweep theremaining primaries.

    As much as I would prefer that to McCain I don’t see it happening.

    However, if Huckabee just hangs for the whole time there is a possibility, albeit a slim one, that McCain drops out due to health or family reasons. His Mom is 96, his wife has had a stroke recently and he looks like he could go any minute.

    If something catastrophic like that were to take place then I suppose the nomination would fall to Huckabee.

    That’s also about the only reason Huck would agree to being a VP.

    I don’t see McCain snagging Huck as VP though. Actually I wouldn’t be surprised if he goes with Lieberman as his running mate.

    Secret, I’m so, so sorry. Are you saying your vote wasting pop is now an Obama supporter? Apocalypse!!!

  30. itsasecret2u said,

    Daniel,

    That appears to be the case… I received this link

    http://my.barackobama.com/YesWeCanvideo

    in my inbox this morning… TWICE.

  31. Albino Hayford said,

    Romney’s out. Word is he wants a refund on his magic underpants, because he got whupped by a Baptist preacher and an old man.

    But he will get his revenge once he goes through exaltation and becomes a god one day.

    Goodbye, Romney…don’ t let the door hit your magic underpants on the way out.

  32. danielbalc said,

    great video secret. I’m inspired…..
    to write a post.

  33. danielbalc said,

Leave a Reply

