One year of an inflated ego and diminished productivity: Part 2 “Blog of the Year”

November 7, 2007 at 9:57 pm (Random thoughts, Uncategorized)

I am convinced that a large part of my readership keeps coming back simply because they never know when the next entry might be interesting to them.

Although I’ve been accused of being more interested in sports than any other subject I like to think of myself as being somewhat eclectic. A perusal through my 5 different categories will confirm this belief. While a number of entries are categorized into multiple categories you can still see from the numbers that there isn’t a true dominating subject nor is there a true neglected subject.

God thoughts- 19

Politics thoughts- 17

Pop thoughts- 23

Random thoughts- 28

Sports thoughts -26

There are many blogs that I have written that I was quite proud of and a few where I looked back and thought to myself, “what the heck was I thinking when I wrote this crap?”.

I know which blogs were my favorites, but I am not too sure about which ones were the favorites of my loyal readers. So to continue our celebration of Daniel’s Den I am going to nominate 15 blogs (3 from each category) for the distinction of “Daniel’s Best Blog of the Year”.

What I would like from my readers is for you to vote from each category as to which blog was your favorite and once we have a list of 5 finalist we will vote for the grand prize winner.

The Nominees…

From the category of God thoughts

Shall We Dance?

Oh, baby, do you know what that’s worth?

Playing God

From the category of Politics thoughts

Do these genes make me look gay?

If these don’t work you can just ride your bike to work.

Prayer Police

From the category of Pop thoughts

Sheryl Crow isn’t just “soaking up the sun” anymore.

We don’t have cable

Coffee Conversation

From the category of Random thoughts Thank you Kate Sessions

A Friday the 13th Horror Post

My Fav-5 Vacation Destinations

From the category of Sports thoughts

What a game, what a game.

The worst fans in sports

The (long awaited) Padres Prediction Post

Remember you are not voting on the most visited or commented on blog entry but you are voting for your personal favorite. Whatever criteria you put into determining your favorite anything is what you need to apply in this situation.

Maybe you liked entires that made you laugh. Maybe you preferred entries that made you think. Some of you may even read just for the sake of wanting to disagree with me, so your favorites might be the ones you disagreed with the most. In fact you can even judge based on the comments that followed the entry. I don’t really care, I just want to know what you liked.

If there is an entry that I left out that you really think should be included than go ahead and nominate it and people can vote on that as well.

5 Comments

  1. danielbalc said,

    Remember to vote for just one in each category. So your comment should look something like this…

    God thoughts
    Shall we Dance?

    Politics thoughts
    Do these genes make me look gay?

    Pop thoughts
    Sheryl Crow isn’t just “soaking up the sun” anymore.

    Random thoughts
    Thank you Kate Sessions

    Sports thoughts
    What a game, what a game.

  2. amyleesspace said,

    God thoughts
    Shall we Dance?

    Politics thoughts
    None

    Pop thoughts
    We Don’t have cable

    Random thoughts
    My fav 5 Vaca Dest.

    Sports thoughts
    The Worst Fans in Sports

  3. RubeRad said,

    Dude, don’t fence me in! I’m going to think outside your little boxes and nominate my own favorites

    God Thoughts: either How do you “get it right” when it comes to parenting? or Word Association Game: “Alcohol” or to tat or not to tattoo? (As a side note, I was all excited about where Ooh, baby, do you know what thats worth? might lead, but it kinda fizzled out)

    Sports Thoughts: A ’slightly gay’* post (I think this is the only sports post I commented on)

    OK, for the others, I can live with your nominations:

    Pop Thoughts: Coffee Conversation

    Random Thoughts: A Friday the 13th Horror Post

    Politics Thoughts: Do these genes make me look gay?

  4. danielbalc said,

    Thanks for the nominations Rube, now all you need is someone to second those nominations. I spent some time re-reading the “ooh baby” post and comments this morning and I am going to have to disagree that it “fizzled out”. What actually happened is that Echo and I agreed and so we stopped fighting with each other. I was quite pleased with the results of that post. What do you feel you were missing out on? The thread is still open for comment.

  5. itsasecret2u said,

    God – I second Rube’s nomination of “Word Association Game: Alcohol.”
    Politics – “Do these genes make me look gay?” (Though I would have rather voted for “Sheryl Crow” here.)
    Pop – “Coffee Conversation”
    Random – “Friday the 13th” (Hilarious)
    Sports – “Worst Fans in Sports”

Leave a Reply

