Poway High on National TV tonight

October 11, 2007 at 5:25 pm (Sports thoughts)

Last weekend I was informed by my downstairs neighbor (a Poway High football coach) that the Titans would be playing on ESPN2 this upcoming Thursday.

Evidently I misunderstood my neighbor and also misinformed some of my friends. The UT reports that tonight’s game against Torrey Pines won’t be shown on ESPN2 but rather ESPNU.

Just for curiosity sake I want to open up a discussion regarding the positives and negatives of televising High School football.

Though I have many of my own thoughts and opinions on this I’d love to hear an uninfluenced response from my readers so I’ll just open the discussion with this question…

Assuming you have ESPNU; will you watch tonight’s game? Why or why not?

22 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    I don’t understand why they chose to televise this particular game.There really is no significance between these two team considering Torrey Pines’s record is 1-4 and Poway’s is 5-0. They aren’t even big rivals.

    I’m sure the players don’t mind being on TV though.

  2. danielbalc said,

    Alex, did you read the article? it says they picked these two teams because of the schools recent success and regional rivalry.

    May I propose another possibility…

    Demographics!

    Lets face it there can’t be too much money being paid for commercials during a HS game. That being said, If I were and Ad man I’d want to put my product before the wealthiest demographic possible. In all the US you won’t find many more richer communities than Poway and La Jolla. I’m actually really interested in what kind of products are pimped during this show.

  3. danielbalc said,

    So will you watch the game Al?

  4. pokerforprofit said,

    I do not have ESPNU so I will not be watching.

    I have caught some of the previous games they have televised on ESPN2, however, and I have not been impressed.

    Honestly, it is very hard for me to watch high school football. The talent level is really low, the kids are not fast, strong, or football savvy, the offensive and defensive playbooks are very vanilla. It is just not a very watchable product.

    The only reason I find myself watching is 1) it is a local school playing 2) there is a top prospect playing that has gotten a lot of pub I want to see what all the hype is about. Other than that, high school football is a tough sell for me.

  5. danielbalc said,

    Last year I went to the CIF championship game at the Q. Carlsbad Vs Poway. It was painful.

    I usually make it to at least one HS game a year if I have a youth involved in some capacity. What I’ve noticed about these games is that just one third of the crowd cares about the football team (and of that third only 10% actually care if the team wins or loses the other 90% are there to watch a friend or relative play). Another third is there because they have a friend or relative on the cheer team and still another third is there because they are a friend or relative of someone on the band/flag/dance/snack bar concessions team.

    Maybe this isn’t the case in Texas but sure is the case at the two schools I see football at (Poway and RB).

  6. danielbalc said,

    well I watched bits and pieces of the game and actually enjoyed it.

    Titans won 20-16 (both teams missed an extra point).

    One thing is glaringly obvious in HS football. Throwing the football is hard to do.

    The commercials were for Old Spice, the Marines and Nike.

    But the highlight of the program for us was that we could pause the game during crowd shots and look for people we know. That’s always fun.

  7. Alex said,

    I watched the first half last night and I thought it was pretty good. The thing I noticed, and the announcers pointed it out, was both teams ran the option very well. You can tell both teams were well coached. I also found out why this game was chosen. Apparently Al Luginbill’s(former Aztec head coach) son was one of the announcers and he graduated from Torrey Pines High School. For being 1-4 Torrey Pines went down swinging last night.

  8. pokerforprofit said,

    One thing is glaringly obvious in HS football. Throwing the football is hard to do

    So it looked like a glorified Turkey Bowl?

    This is why I cannot watch HS football. No one can pass the ball it is all wierd running and option plays. Not at all sophisticated enough. Not at all watchable.

  9. danielbalc said,

    it’s not like a Turkey bowl because they know they can’t throw the ball so they only do it once or twice during a 70 yard drive.

    Turkey bowl is like banging your head against the wall as EVERY 130 pound “speedster” runs deep only to have the QB sacked or throwing the ball away within 2 seconds of the snap.

    Then those skinny little punks run back into the huddle saying, “I was open why didn’t you throw it to me?”

    Ah the thrill

    and it’s only 6 weeks away!

  10. pokerforprofit said,

    EVERY 130 pound “speedster” runs deep

    We could use a few less “speedsters” and a few more “overweight fat guys” to give the QB more than the alotted 2 seconds to find a reciever.

    I look forward to the pageantry and I put the over\under at 30 minutes as to when I will pull my groin muscle this year.

  11. danielbalc said,

    As a proud “overweight fat guy” I’ll take the under if I’m on the opposing team.

    After all it really is us big boys that win the game.

    no glamor
    no glory
    just grit.

  12. itsasecret2u said,

    I’m really overweight. Perhaps I could help out the offensive line this year…

  13. danielbalc said,

    It’s not your fault you’re eating for two….

    It is your fault you’re not even exercising for one.

  14. itsasecret2u said,

    hahaha

  15. danielbalc said,

    Congratulations to Poway High for making it to the CIF Division 1 championship game for the second year in a row!

    I’m bummed I won’t be able to make it to the game next Friday at the Q but I’m excited that I will be able to DVR it and watch it later.

    Meanwhile did anybody brave those insane conditions last night to go to the Semifinal game verses Mira Mesa? The UT reports about 500 fans. If you were one of those 500 let me know what the game was like. Were you freezing your butt off? I was at home warm, cozy and dry watching “The River Wild” on TV. But I was thinking positive thoughts about the Titans so that’s got to count for their victory somehow right?

    here’s the UT article describing the conditions last night as “monsoon” like.

    http://www.signonsandiego.com/uniontrib/20071201/news_1s1p-gemmell.html

    sounds like great football weather.

  16. Lindsey Lawless said,

    Hey,
    I am a very proud Poway High Senior and last night was the most amazing and gratifying game yet in all of my highschool years. We seniors brag so much about out football team and the class of 08 that when we are all on the 50 yard line loosing our voices and cheering for our winning team there is’nt anything we would rather be doing.
    There was definately a minimum of 500people there watching. I think the majority of that was seniors like me since it was our last home football game at Poway and everyone wanted to be there and see history in the making.
    The down-poor never hesitated the entire game. It made the game that much more amazing! Watching our boys slide around on the field as it quickly filled with water was so fun expecially when you are soaked and heavy from all the water. By the end of the game the field was actually a lake, the sidelines were standing in about 2 inches of water.
    We tried to rush the field of course after the victory and have a slip and slide party on the field but that was stopped short by Mr. Fischer who obviously has never been on a slip and slide in his entire life. We tried 4 times of course, running from gate to gate with about 100 of us. But nevertheless an amazing night.
    I encourage everyone to go to the CIF championships at the Q. It will be a fight to the end and Poway High will be there rain or shine to cheer our boys on.

  17. Albino Hayford said,

    500 people? Wow. Here in Texas, we get thousands for a regular season game, even when the team is terrible. But good for you guys, anyway.

  18. danielbalc said,

    Albino, 500 was probably the seasons smallest crowd of the year. The weather here was terrible last night. It was the most rainfall we’ve gotten in years very cold and very windy. The national weather service issued flash flood warnings for the area because the fires left thousands of acres of muddy hillside very vulnerable.

    the final regular season game of the year (at RB) had several thousand in attendance and Fridays championship game at Qualcomm staidum will have several thousand in attendance as well. that being said I won’t pretend that San Diego HS football is even close to as popular as Texas HS football. But we still manage to prudce some pretty good football players.

    for more on our wild weather read here…
    http://www.signonsandiego.com/news/metro/20071201-9999-7n1rain.html

  19. alex said,

    Dan, I was one of the FREEZING 500. The game was great for the 3 1/2 quarters I watched. My waterproof jacket was no longer waterproof by the 3rd quarter and the wind was just too much for me to stand.

    This team(Poway High Seniors) is extremely talented and if RBV can’t figure out a way to Run the Ball they will stand no chance. The Defensive Football principles are the same at every level, stop the run and making them beat you with their passing game. It’s just that simple. You won’t find too many Peyton Mannings or Tom Brady’s at the High School level.

  20. danielbalc said,

    Well Tonight is the big game. 8PM at Qualcomm stadium and on Channel 4 or if you must 1090AM, 105.7 FM radio.

    Titans are matched up against the Rancho Buena Vista Longhorns in the CIF division I Title game.

    All the longhorns do is RUN, RUN and RUN again. All season they have attempted just 39 passes.

    This means the weather will not be a negative factor for them at all, forecast calls for a cold wet and breezy night.

    There are also three other games being played on the field before Poway and RBV take the field. In fact the conditions are so bad they have already planned on tearing the turf out after the game and re sodding it for the remainder of the Chargers season and the two Bowl games (that’s 5 or 6 games).

    This should be a fun game to watch. Old time pound it through the mud football. I wish I could be there.

    Go Poway!

  21. pokerforprofit said,

    stop the run and making them beat you with their passing game.

    You mean there is a passing game in HS Football?

  22. danielbalc said,

    Congratulations Poway Titans!

    http://www.signonsandiego.com/sports/preps/football/20071208-9999-1s8p-gemmell.html

    “Poway was able to do it just a little bit better for just a little bit longer.”

    This is they key to winning in football

Leave a Reply

