A Gift To My Loyal (and local) Readers

September 12, 2007 at 5:16 pm (Random thoughts)

As a gift to my loyal readers I have decided to release to you some information of immeasurable value.

Actually I suppose it’s value could “technically” be measured by dollar, pound, or calorie count, but none of those account for the intangible of “happiness”, “satisfaction” and sheer “bliss” that you will receive by reacting to this information.

I am pleased to announce that on Thursday, September 13th, 2007 in Poway, Free, That’s right FREE, Burritos will be distributed to every one who wants one at Chipoltle.

I know what you’re thinking, “there’s no such thing as a free burrito.” And, well, you’re wrong.

There is such a thing as a free burrito and you can get one tomorrow at Chipoltle.

Ok so now maybe you are thinking, “yeah but I bet they aren’t very good”.  Well, once again you’re wrong. Chipoltle burritos are good plus more good. They’re good because YOU decide what goes in them. YOU watch as they put your selected ingredients into the warm flour tortilla and YOU get the delight of tasting this wonderful deliciousness for FREE!

Why are they giving them out for free?

That’s easy, because Chipoltle burritos are like cocaine. Once you’ve had one you are guaranteed to crave them. Remember the addictive chemical the colonel puts in his chicken? Well Chipoltles is even better.

The Poway Chipoltle’s offical grand opening is Friday, but their clever promotions department has decided to hook you by giving you a free one on Thursday.

That is my gift to you. A (or even multiple) Free Burrito (s). If you choose not to accept it so be it. You have rejected my grace. Your punishment shall be upon your own head.

21 Comments

  1. 5najeras said,

    I’m so there! We have a “Countdown to the grand opening” calendar at our house. Okay not really but we are very excited about it! 🙂

  2. danielbalc said,

    Yeah, but did you know about the free day tomorrow?

    I’m planning on being there Friday morning for the grand opening as well. the first 100 get T-shirts and a chance to win free burritos for a year. I’d shave my whole body for free burritos for a year.

  3. Albino Hayford said,

    Nothing will EVER compare to a carne asada burrito at Alberto’s babeeeeee!

  4. danielbalc said,

    Albino,

    It’s a sad thing for me to admit but my carne asada burrito days are few and far between.
    Reserved for special occasions, if you will.

    I can remember the days when a visit to the barn was a weekly ritual, but alas It’s now a bi-annual visit if that.

    Darn you oh healthier lifestyle! Darn you to Heck!

  5. danielbalc said,

    Well we were able to get our free burritos and they were delicious. Athena and I went over there on our lunch break stood in a very long line for a relatively short time and then each received a delicious burrito made to order to our exact specifications as well as a fountain drink. They didn’t even have a cash register open. Not one cent. Wow! Great marketing technique. There is still time, make your way over there ASAP.

  6. 5najeras said,

    Good Stuff! I saved half of mine for today. This is probably the best thing that has ever happened to our little city!!

  7. pokerforprofit said,

    We attempted to go but the line disuaded us. I did see half the congregation of LWC in line though! I guess we will have to be paying customers.

    I am anxious to find out what all the fuss is about, my brain tells me these cannot possibly be that much better than any other burrito (maybe healthier), but I will leave it up to my taste buds to make that determination.

    The fact that 5N saved HALF of hers concerns me a bit. I know you are rather slim, but will I have to visit the ER if I attempt to eat the whole thing in one sitting?

  8. danielbalc said,

    OK I am officially the 27th person to buy a burrito from the chipotle in Poway. I went early to be one of the first 100 under the assumption that the first 100 get a t shirt and entry to win burritos for a year. Well the t-shirt part was true but it turns out that anyone all day can enter to win free burritos for the year. 5 winners will be selected at different times. I guess earlier is better because you’ll be in on all 5 chances. but still I liked the 5 out of 100 odds a lot better than this.

    You were deceived by the line length. It goes quickly and you don’t wait for your food. They make it in front of you. longest wait would be like 10-15 minutes I guarantee it.

    Oh well you could’ve saved 11 dollars between you and S.

  9. 5najeras said,

    The burritos are huge. I was also trying to take advantage of the free meal so I had the burrito loaded up with everything. Rice, beans, chicken, salsa, sour cream, guacamole, lettuce. It was like the size of a giant brick. An incredibly tasty brick though. I’d go as far as to say that if anyone can finish one of those in one sitting they should possibly take a minute to think about the importance of portioin control. 🙂

  10. danielbalc said,

    portion control? What’s that? isn’t that the people you call when you swallow tooth paste from China?

  11. Jessica said,

    Please blog about bono….thank you….oh…this is Jess’ spouse or batman for short

  12. danielbalc said,

    UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!

    If you happened to be one of the 6 or 7 people I didn’t call or text message I have amazing news.

    I WON!

    Here’s what happened. At about 10:45 this morning I got a call from a number I didn’t recognize.

    “Is this Daniel Balcombe?”

    “Yes, who’s this?”

    “this is Marey from Chipotle in Pow…”

    “NO WAY! No way: you’d better not be messing with me…”

    “No sir I’m not messing with you, I’m caling to tell you, that you won free burritos for a year.”

    “AHHHHH!!!! Wooo Hooo! Wooo HooOOO! Yes, Yes yes yes!!!. Wait, You’d better not be messing with me.”

    “I’m serious, you won.”

    “Oh my, Oh my, Oh thank you, thank you so much, what was your name again?”

    “marney”

    “Marney, I love you.”

    So after that I went over to the chipotle and the manager, Josh, confirmed my ID before handing me a deck of 52 cards. Each card being worth 1 free burrito.

    But now I know what it’s like to win the lottery because all kinds of people think they are somehow entitled to one of my 52 burritos. I don’t know what to do. I’ll have to think about it over lunch.

  13. Albino Hayford said,

    Congratulations. We bask in your reflected luck. Any lotto numbers for us?

  14. 5najeras said,

    I think we should bet on how Rivers does next week. If I win I should get one of your Burrito Cards. 🙂

  15. RubeRad said,

    You’re going to be tithing 5.2 of those burrito cards, right? (Better round up to 6…)

  16. danielbalc said,

    hmmmm tithing on free burritos? I don’t know about that. I will say I have already resigned to that fact that I am not going to be eating each of my 52 freebies but will indeed be gifting some of them. How many and how?

    Stay tuned.

  17. RubeRad said,

    You should award free burritos to the most-frequent readers of your blog (as demonstrated by the number of comments (excluding sports topics (and I said number of comments, not size of comments — get out of my way, Echo! (still I probably wouldn’t win (maybe better would be a prize for deepest nesting of parentheses?)))))

  18. Franky said,

    Why not eat 52 of them! You won bro. Enjoy them.

    I went there tonight. Chipotle’s chips are SO good. They have a really great lime salt that they use.

  19. itsasecret2u said,

    Mmmmmm…… Chipotle….

  20. pokerforprofit said,

    I had my first experience at Chipotle yesterday and it did not come without incident.

    We decided to take it home and eat because it was late. This was a mistake. When we got home the burritos fell out of the paper bag and onto the driveway. Not a good start. I am assuming their immense weight lead to this.

    Also, they were unusually cold when we began to eat. We really don’t live far away and they should stay warm for 5-10 minutes I would think. I don’t know why this is but cold burritos are no bueno.

    I have no idea how they can charge 1.40 to add guacamole, an ingredient that is vital to having a good-tasting burrito. I would feel better if they just charged me 7.50 and included the guac. Who does not like guac on a burrito?

    As far as the taste, I thought they were very good. I got the Carnitas with everything on it. I also think Rubios is very good so I do not suscribe to idea that it was miles better than any other burrito (maybe healthier??).

    I will be going back and I will try something different (because I have to try everything once) and eat there instead of taking it home.

  21. itsasecret2u said,

    Chipotle always tastes better when eaten at the restaurant. This is probably true of every restaurant, but it seems especially true of Chipotle. Not sure why…

    Anyway, if you get the veggie items (tacos, burritos, burrito bol, salad…) they come with guac on them. 🙂 But just for the record, I love guacamole with my chips, but hate it on my burritos. So there are some people out there who don’t like the guac.

Leave a Reply

