Back to school, but when do we get back to reality?

August 23, 2007 at 3:27 pm (Random thoughts)

I don’t have time to write as much as I would like on this subject but I hope that my readers can take a moment and read this article and then let me know if you would have graduated from middle school. The article talks about a 13 year old who was suspended for 3 days from school for drawing a picture of a gun.

The “threatening” picture in question is included on the article.

I would have been banned for life from all forms of education for the doodles I made during class, recess, after school while doing homework, taking notes at church etc. I didn’t just sketch I included sound effects, my favorite being the machine gun spittle noise (tsltsltsltslstlsltsltsl) that dappled my artwork with drops of saliva. Or the high pitched falling bomb sound followed by  the reverberating ptchuuuuuubbbbbbbbb!!

What a way to kick off the school year.

26 Comments

  1. Albino Hayford said,

    Liberal overreaction run amok. Another good argument for sending your kids to the Mississippi school system

  2. LynnH said,

    I would never have made it out of elementary school. I’m sure my toy army men would have gotten me banned. Ditto Albino.

  3. itsasecret2u said,

    Reason #687 to homeschool your kids… especially your boys.

    At Shane’s first preschool (run at a high school through the public school system), the kids weren’t allowed to wear or bring anything with superheroes on it because they were considered too violent. If the kids made mention of a gun (including turning a stick into a gun or sword, as most little boys I know seem very inclined to do) the parents were talked to and the children mildly disciplined. I understand the concern following all the school violence of recent years, but why does that mean we have to abandon common sense? Why do we need to make little boys feel like sickos for their natural tendancy toward violence, which in most cases is healthy and perfectly normal?

  4. danielbalc said,

    I was just telling my wife the other day how I constantly imagine myself carrying around an arsenal of weapons which I use to fight bad guys in my imagination. I don’t think I’m that crazy. I think it’s beneficial to promote heroism, standing up for the weak, fighting for what’s right and supporting the second amendment and first amendment for that matter. We have the right to not only bear arms but draw them as well.

    they brought back transformers they need to bring back GI Joe.

  5. danielbalc said,

    Are we really at the point where we think bulletproof backpacks are necessary?

    http://news.bostonherald.com/localRegional/view.bg?articleid=1016084

  6. Jessica said,

    I saw those backpacks on the news and I thought they were so dumb. If someone is shooting at you are you supposed to tell them to wait because you need your backpack and you need to strap it on. It’s not like it protects both side of you either like say a vest would, hey someone should invent that a bulletproof vest you could wear under your clothes. Now thats a good idea!

  7. danielbalc said,

    In my opinion teaching kids to run away is the biggest danger. The kids that do school shootings are cowards. Cowards flee at even the slightest bit of opposition. We need to teach kids to take an offensive approach towards threats.

    Bullet proof anything only caters to cowardice and will more than likely be used BY school shooters, rather than as protection from school shooters.

    But we already covered this in a different blog entry.

  8. Albino Hayford said,

    One more word of caution: Don’t send your kids to the South Carolina public school system! Watch it and weep.

  9. danielbalc said,

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    OMG, That was, like totally hilarious!

  10. danielbalc said,

    “such as”

    never have those two words together meant so little.

  11. itsasecret2u said,

    Oh. My.

  12. pokerforprofit said,

    WOW! Are “U.S. Americans” different from “Americans” That is funny. Looks like the host almost lost it as well.

    I think this movie quote sums it up best,

    Ms. South Carolina, “What you’ve just said is one of the most insanely idiotic things I have ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherent response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.”

  13. danielbalc said,

    I swear I can’t get enough of that video, I just watched in again and started crying it’s soooo funny.

    But she does have a point. How can people find the US on a map if they don’t have maps?

  14. itsasecret2u said,

    OK, so is that really true that 1 in 5 Americans can’t locate the US on a map?? That almost scares me more than Miss South Carolina… almost.

  15. Jessica said,

    South Africa, Iraq and Asian countries “such as” are saying “Please, please don’t help our education systems.” That video was so funny.

  16. danielbalc said,

    You’ve got to check out msnbc.com for the video of her trying to redeem herself this morning on the Today show.

    Vick has a better chance at self redemption.

  17. itsasecret2u said,

    hahaha I love how the “shock” of being on national TV didn’t seem to bother her when she was parading around on stage in a bikini. I guess it only hit her when they asked her this “overwhelming” question.

  18. Albino Hayford said,

    A>HREF=”http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeGmOrs9gCU”>Here is the Today Show interview. Like, I was totally not convinced.

  19. Albino Hayford said,

  20. Pablo Honey said,

    I love the look on Mario Lopez’s face when she finishes. Priceless.

  21. Albino Hayford said,

  22. danielbalc said,

    haha. Still not as funny as listening to her speak though.

  23. itsasecret2u said,

    Oh man… This poor girl. I can’t help feeling a little sorry for her with all the attention it’s receiving.

  24. Albino Hayford said,

    Miss South Carolina’s parents react

  25. Albino Hayford said,

    Woops. Here’s the real link http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=RQc6oBCuDXk

  26. danielbalc said,

    Even though this thread completely went off bae with the MIss South Carolina clip I saw this article today… http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,464848,00.html
    and it reminded me of how necessary I believe such training is.

    Teach your kids to fight!

Leave a Reply

