Now With… ?

June 15, 2007 at 4:36 pm (Random thoughts)

It seems like every day there is a new something or other that gets added to the products we use so on a regular basis. I often wonder if they are really adding anything at all or if they are just putting the ingredients onto the front of the bottle. “Now With” has become a major selling point for a number of toiletries, cosmetics, beverages, cleaning products and even foods. Do you think you could identify a product simply by the “with” ingredients on the front label? How many of us have ever taken the time to read the list of ingredients on the products you use? We may not know what distearyldimonium chloride is, but if it smells good we’ll use it,  or eat it, or drink it. Won’t we? Would we? Do we?

I’m not writing this post to stand on a soap box and strike up a nice debate (I think we’ve had enough of that lately). I was recently challenged by a fellow blogger that creating trivia games is not easy so I decided to give it a run. So you can take a deep breath, relax and take an imaginery journey through your local drug store with me. The object of this game is simple. The first to correctly identify 5 products (that I use) based on their “with” ingredients will win themselves a lotto scratcher (my prize of choice) here you go, enjoy…

1) “With Coconut Extract and Silk Protein.”

2) “With Natural Colloidal Oatmeal”

3) “With Helioplex”

4) “Lavender and Lemon Extracts”

5) “Taurine. Creatine. Agrinine and Other Power Components”

You must correctly get the Brand name and Product name

47 Comments

  1. Matt S said,

    I don’t think Ken Jennings could get these right!

    Then again I never go shopping so what do I know?

    Anyway, here we go….

    1) Herbal Essence Shampoo

    2) Preparation H Hemorriod Cream

    3) Some form of steroid

    4) Hand Soap

    5) More steroids

  2. danielbalc said,

    Matt you were close on 1, almost close on 2 of them, somewhat almost close on one more and not even close on the other.

    Maybe this will be easier for the ladies in the blogosphere. Although I’ll bet my brother will do OK.

    The point is to build on the everyones answers once one is correctly selected I will say so, it’s the last man standing who wins in this game.

  3. danielbalc said,

    BTW products that I use. Geez man, Prep-H? Steroids? Soap???

  4. Alex said,

    #1= Suave natural
    #2 = Aveeno Lotion
    #3 = Neutrogena sunblock
    #4 = Ajax ?
    #5 = Energy Drink?

  5. itsasecret2u said,

    I will never get the brand names, but here are my general guesses:

    1. Shampoo

    2. Um… Face soap of some kind? Or maybe body wash.

    3. No idea in the wide world what “helioplex” is… Maybe sunscreen?

    4. Hmm… I was thinking cleaner of some kind, but those are the kinds of ingredients my cleaners have in them. How about body wash?

    5. Vitamins or protein shake of some kind.

  6. danielbalc said,

    I’m thinking Alex put good use to his search engine because he’s pretty dang close on all of them. The rules, I remind you. Is that you have to have BOTH the Brand Name and the Product Name. I can’t give Alex a nod on any of them but he’s sooooooooo close.

  7. itsasecret2u said,

    Oh man. I stink at this. My products are never excited about their “new” ingredients; they are excited about what they don’t have in them. (Ex: Gluten-free! No parabens! No sodium laurel sulfate!)

  8. itsasecret2u said,

    Since you said Alex was close…

    1. Suave Naturals Conditioner

    2. Aveno face wash

    3. Neutrogena… self tanner? No, wait! After-sun care lotion. I don’t want to believe you use self-tanner…

    4. Dish soap, but I don’t know the brand. Does Ajax make dish soap?

    5. Hmm… I still like my vitamin suggestion rather than an energy drink. But you didn’t say I was close, so… Yeah I have no clue. I don’t know any “energy drinks” except Monster.

  9. Albino Hayford said,

    Diet Coke with Splenda is AWESOME. Tastes very much like regular coke.

  10. amyleesspace said,

    Alex you have once again proven how metro you are (**insert smiley face, I am just teasing)

    Ok here are my guesses:

    1) Suave hair shampoo ( you dont look like much of a conditioner kinda guy)

    2)Neutrogena Foot Scrub

    3)Neutrogena Sun Block

    4) Suave Body wash

    5)Red Bull energy drink

  11. amyleesspace said,

    I change my #4 to Palmolive Dish Soap, and my #2 to Dove Body wash

  12. danielbalc said,

    4 correct brand names.

    On further review Number 4 is correct.

    Ajax dish soap. (I actually changed this from a different one thinking it would be harder, but it’s the first one. WOW)

    number 5 shouldn’t be this hard, since it’s products that I use.

  13. Pablo Honey said,

    The only ones I actually know without cheating are:

    #2 – Aveeno Moisturizing Lotion

    #3 – Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock (used it golfing yesterday!)

    #5 – Has to be Sobe No Fear

  14. danielbalc said,

    to clarify; Alex and Secret have correctly identified the first 4 Brand names. Number 4 is Ajax dish soap.

  15. danielbalc said,

    Pablo gets numbers 3 and 5 and needs a word to get 2

  16. amyleesspace said,

    Ok so can we take others answers?

  17. Pablo Honey said,

    Daily?

  18. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Hair Gel

    2) Aveeno Body Wash

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  19. danielbalc said,

    yes you may take others answers.

    Daily is correct

    Amy you just need the first two to be correct to win.

  20. amyleesspace said,

    Suave Hair Conditioner

    Aveeno Daily Body Lotion

  21. amyleesspace said,

    Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion #2

  22. itsasecret2u said,

    1. Suave Naturals Shampoo

    2. Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3. Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4. Ajax Dish Soap

    5. Sobe No Fear

  23. Midge said,

    DBalc – I thought you called trivia “tacky?”

    What’s up with that?? You owe Emily an apology 😉

  24. danielbalc said,

    I need all 5 correctly in order on one comment. Secret you are one off.

    Midge I called it “silly” and then took the challenge of doing it.

    You’re right though, I do owe her an apology because obviously this wasn’t difficult enough. It’s too bad she’s not by her comp now because she probably would win this thing.

  25. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Hair Gel

    2) Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  26. itsasecret2u said,

    1. Suave Naturals Styling gel

    2. Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3. Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4. Ajax Dish Soap

    5. Sobe No Fear

  27. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Shampoo

    2) Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  28. danielbalc said,

    Oh and no one has correctly identified the product and brand name of number 1 yet.

  29. itsasecret2u said,

    Oh dang, Amy beat me…

  30. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Mouuse

    2) Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  31. danielbalc said,

    check that, the brand name is correct just not the product name

  32. itsasecret2u said,

    1. Suave Naturals Coconut conditioner… or something? GAH!

    2. Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3. Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4. Ajax Dish Soap

    5. Sobe No Fear

  33. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Hair Styling Gel

    2) Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  34. amyleesspace said,

    I am about to have the baby here!

  35. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Hair Styling Mouuse

    2) Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  36. danielbalc said,

    oh so close secret

  37. amyleesspace said,

    1) Suave Naturals Conditioner

    2) Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3)Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4) Ajax Dish Soap

    5) Sobe NO Fear

  38. itsasecret2u said,

    1. Suave Naturals TROPICAL Coconut conditioner (If it’s not, I quit)

    2. Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion

    3. Neutrogena Body Mist Sunblock

    4. Ajax Dish Soap

    5. Sobe No Fear

  39. danielbalc said,

    no need to quit. Well I guess there is, because that’s IT! you are a winner Secret! I’ll get your prize to you tomorrow night.

  40. amyleesspace said,

    oh darn!!

    🙂 Good job Secret!! Now I better get back to work!

  41. itsasecret2u said,

    DANG! That was SO SPECIFIC! haha

    🙂

    See, Daniel, trivia is fun.

  42. danielbalc said,

    hahaha. Well one thing that’s for sure is the a trivia game is a GREAT way to rack up your hits (which is why 5N is always doing it).

  43. danielbalc said,

    of course she won’t put up a counter for all of us to see her progress. Looks like today will be a monumantal day where we hit the 20,000 view mark. Earlier this morning we got the 2000th comment.

    I feel like Trevor Hoffman.

  44. itsasecret2u said,

    Man, I never even look at my stats. Maybe I should… Congrats on the impending 20,000 mark!

  45. 5najeras said,

    I’m gone for half a day and I miss this whole thing! No fair!
    Oh and Daniel, regarding your comment #42, that is SOOOOOOO not true. I’m not in this for the comments/ stats!!!!!!!!!!!! (Unlike some people *Ahem Trevor*) I do trivia to ease some of the wars and switch up the mood. So There!!!

  46. danielbalc said,

    Yeah right you don’t care about numbers? you were the one bosting about your BDE (at least until i beat it.)

  47. 5najeras said,

    Ok, I like looking at my graph as much as the next guy/girl, but that’s not why I do the trivia. Hmph! And I’ll beat your BDE again…. just wait……..

Leave a Reply

