Bonus Post: Fast Food Wars

May 29, 2007 at 6:39 pm (Pop thoughts)

I was totally satisfied with my “fav-5” post as being enough blog fodder for this week until I saw this story that Carl’s Jr is suing Jack in the Box for their commercials.

I find this so ironic because I went on a 2-year boycott of Carl’s Jr because of the inappropriateness of their commercials (the one with Paris Hilton washing a car) and I laughed out loud at the Jack in the Box ones (where they make fun of the name “angus”).

It’s sad to see the denigration of our society where you are allowed to treat women as pieces of meat but get sued for making fun of cows as pieces of meat.

26 Comments

  1. danielbalc said,

    In case you’re wondering I still won’t eat Carl’s Jr. though a few months ago I regrettably did have a meal there it is far and away my last choice when it comes to fast food.

  2. Matt S said,

    Jack in the Box has completely resurected itself by bringing back “Jack”. They were floundering as a company until that decision.

    Whoever is the marketing director over there should get rewarded handsomely because the commercials are hillarious. I hate fast food, but if I ever eat it I would eat there first.

  3. itsasecret2u said,

    Goodness. This is really ridiculous. Does Carl’s Jr. really think that people (ok, most people) are stupid enough to take the Jack in the Box ads seriously? It’s a joke. Lighten up.

    I mean, the JitB ads are gross, but in a stupid, fart-humor sort of way. Carl’s Jr. ads are just disgusting. Of course, there’s the Paris Hilton one, but don’t they also have another one with someone riding a mechanical bull? And one with a plastic surgeon talking to a chicken? And a guy checking out the waitress serving him buffalo wings while his girlfriend is sitting right there? Yeah, not funny. Just disgusting.

  4. danielbalc said,

    Thanks for keeping count of offensive CJ’s ads secret.

    Well I decided to hit up Jack in the Box for lunch and try out this sirloin sandwich. It was pretty good but not good enough to make me want to go back there ever again. I HATE it when the person taking my order doesn’t speak English. That experience was enough to put another year or two between today and my next jack in the box visit.

  5. 5najeras said,

    You should boycott fast food not because of the commercials, but because it isn’t food. It’s crap. Nasty crap. Although I will allow myself a Western Bacon Cheeseburger twice a year. 😉

  6. Matt S said,

    I HATE it when the person taking my order doesn’t speak English.

    That eliminates you from eating at any fast food joint in the greater San Diego area.

  7. danielbalc said,

    5n,

    Evidently you have never had a crunchwrap supreme at taco bell. There’s no way you can call fast food nasty crap when you’ve enjoyed that little bit of deliciousness.

  8. itsasecret2u said,

    Crunchwrap? That does not sound appetizing in the least. In fact, if you take out most of the middle letters, doesn’t that actually spell “crap?”

  9. danielbalc said,

    you’re just jealous ’cause your kid would rather eat m&m’s than poopy bread.

  10. amyleesspace said,

    I agree CJ’s commercials cross the line, and really are not even related to food.. They just stretch the correllation to try to use “sex appeal” in hopes it will make you want to buy their food… Honestly seeing Paris Hillton 1/2 dressed trying to promote a burger, makes me want to eat it less.

    I LOVE Jack in the Box’s Sourdough Jack Burgers!!! Those are the best! Fast food isnt’ good for you, but hey you only live once you might as well eat it up :)!!

  11. itsasecret2u said,

    No, he likes “Sundrops” better than M&Ms. (Sundrops = natural version of M&Ms that we are using to potty train him.)

    I never grew attached to fast food growing up because there is not a lot a vegetarian can eat at Mc Donalds. But I do love fast food french fries. Yummy. In fact, I’m craving those right about now.

  12. amyleesspace said,

    MMMMMM it doesn’t get much better than Mcy D’s fries!!

  13. Albino Hayford said,

    Taco Bell is to Mexican food as tofu is to steak. WAKE UP and drive yourself over to Alberto’s and order one of those carne asada burritos…RIGHT NOW!!!!

    Jack in the Box is the best but the priciest — Their chicken strips and curly fries are good, but their new Andes Mint Shake is WICKED DELICIOUS!!! I made the mistake of eating 3 of their monster tacos on a dare once, and let’s just say I had a monster disaster in the bathroom 30 minutes later.

  14. Pablo Honey said,

    Alberto’s? Jim don’t you know you can’t identify a Mexican food restaurant by it’s name? Not only are there at least 5,000,000 Alberto’s in San Diego county, they are also constantly changing names! Fortunately I know where you speak of, and though I no longer know it’s name (I know it is no longer Alberto’s) you can always reference it as we always lovingly refer to it… “The Barn”

    As for the rest of fast food I eat it all and love it all. Deal with it.

  15. danielbalc said,

    Albino,

    who said anything about Taco bell being Mexican food? Not I. I said it’s delicious. If I want Mexican food I am NOT going to Taco Bell, I’m probably going to El Ranchito and getting some rolled tacos (which I don’t think are all that mexican) or to the “barn” and getting some carne asada fries (which I don’t think are all that Mexican) or to Sombreros and getting a CALIFORNIA burrito (which Is straight up Californian and we are darn proud to have this burrito bear our name). Does Texas have a burrito named after it? if so what are the ingredients?

  16. Franky said,

    A site for “mimbos” huh? Probably will just attract more traffic for me! 🙂

    Secret, since we don’t have TV, why do you know about all the CJrs commercials?

    I have issues with Taco Bell. I ordered nachos and pulled out a long, thick black hair! GROSS!

  17. itsasecret2u said,

    I’ve seen all those commercials maybe once each while at my mom’s house flipping channels. When I read the post (and the linked article) I Googled the CJ’s commercials to make sure I remembered them correctly, having been offended the first time I saw them.

    What? A girl’s gotta do her research before she goes on a rant…

  18. Echo_ohcE said,

    I was gonna post, but then got hungry instead.

  19. LynnH said,

    If I want Mexican food I just go home. Mmmmmm!

  20. amyleesspace said,

    Lynn… no fair you have an advantage!! Rosa makes the bomb mexican food~!!!!

    When I get get meals for after I have this baby, Rosa is my first request 🙂

  21. danielbalc said,

    I’ve never had any of Rosa’s food but i’ve heard it is quite scrumptious.

  22. LynnH said,

    I’ll put your order in Amy.

  23. Franky said,

    I was watching a commercial for I think Burger King the other day and they were advertising giving Fantastic Four characters with their kids meal.

    It made me think how funny it would be to NOT put anything in the meals, then when the kids or parents come up to complain you just explain to them that they got the Invisible Woman.

  24. itsasecret2u said,

    *sigh*

  25. danielbalc said,

    yuk yuk yuck

  26. X X Xenophobe « Daniel’s Den said,

    […] 18th, 2007 at 6:00 pm (Politics thoughts, God thoughts) I recently had to delete a comment on my Fast Food Wars post because it contained some vulgarities and insults that I consider inappropriate for my blog. […]

Leave a Reply

