No Schott. Any Shot?

February 13, 2007 at 6:57 pm (Sports thoughts)

Albino has requested a page to vent about the Chargers coaching situation. As many loyal Chargers fans know The Chargers have now lost 5 coaches during this off season. The most recent being the head coach. In addition we have lost both offensive and defensive coordinators, the tights ends coach and the linebackers coach. As it stands the Chargers are less then 2 months away from the NFL draft and we (the fans) are left clueless as to who will lead our team next season. It isn’t just the fans who are worried but the players also are expressing shock and confusion.

For blog purposes this discussion must have a launching point. I give you three.

1. Why?

2. Who now?

3. What do you expect next season?

47 Comments

  1. danielbalc said,

    1. Irreconcilable Differences.

    2. Tampa Bay Defensive Coordinator Monte Kiffin

    3. I’ll comment after the draft.

  2. danielbalc said,

    I’ll include the possibility of Ron Rivera as my answer for number 2.

  3. RubeRad said,

    I know zero about what’s going on in football, but it seems to me pretty stupid to jettison the coaching staff of a team that (a) was a favorite for this year’s super bowl, (b) pretty clearly knocked themselves out of the playoffs with stupid mistakes, and (c) was already an odds-favorite for next year’s superbowl — over the reigning champions!

  4. itsasecret2u said,

    OK, I don’t have answers to the last two questions, but here’s my answer to the first:

    The best record and the most-impressive stats matter little if you can’t get it done in the playoffs. I don’t mean to imply that it is necessarily Marty’s fault that the Charger’s lost this time… but his playoff record is 5-13. Ew. He holds the distinction of being the NFL coach with the most wins to never coach a team in the Super Bowl. Ew again.

    Anyway, I kind of liked the guy, but maybe this could be part of the reason he was canned?

  5. danielbalc said,

    Everybody:

    Marty was not fired for his playoff record or because of the loss to the patriots.

    He was fired because he butted heads with general manager AJ Smith. The latest development was when AJ sent a letter to Donnie Edwards that basically said, “your service as a Charger is over.” Marty and Donnie were good friends so Marty made some comments to AJ that caused AJ to say to Dean Spanos, “I’m sick of his attitude, it’s me or him.” Dean chose AJ. I think this was the best choice.

  6. itsasecret2u said,

    That’s a lot sadder than my idea. “Personality issues” is a bummer of a reason to get fired.

  7. Albino Hayford said,

    The big news on ESPN is that Marty was interviewing his brother to be a coordinator, without consulting the GM. The bottom line is that obviously the GM had issues with Marty, but doesn’t anybody think of the team first? Hasn’t anybody heard the old saying, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it?”

    Wow, this is just crazy!

    Ideas: Bill Parcells or Bill Cower, but the offer would have to be HUGE!

  8. danielbalc said,

    neither of those are possibilities. they are paying marty 4 million next season. Whoever it is will need a long term deal with the money deferred. You can’t get an old guy like parcells and cower and Marty are best friends. It’s ron rivera or rex ryan.

    yeah he wanted his brother to get a job but aj didn’t like that. You’ve gotta work under your GM.

  9. Echo_ohcE said,

    Chargers will never be good. Give it up.

    Go bears!

    Al Capone

  10. AS said,

    Marty was fired because of Smith but that doesn’t mean he shouldn’t have been fired for playoffs/Patriots. It’s crazy firing a 14-2 head coach right? Maybe. Maybe not. I’d rather have Smith as GM then Marty as coach. I don’t know how much input Marty had on the Vick/LT draft, the Manning/Rivers/Merriman draft d(st)eal, or even getting Gates. This team has talent that comes from a good GM, scouting, and even good coaching. Ultimately, the players response from this will tell us if this was a good move. If the players are upset or unhappy then 2007 could spell doom. Otherwise, I think this will be a good move and help this team run smoothly without the GM/HC being a couple of hissy fit girls.

    Personally, I’m happy Marty is gone. I’m sick of seeing his blank stare with those ugly glasses after his bonehead decisions. I say bring on a younger, black coach. Maybe we can lure away somebody in a contract.

  11. danielbalc said,

    How is younger and darker supposed to equal better?

    Your candidates seem to be… In order of most to least likely.

    1) Ron Rivera
    2) Rex Ryan
    3) Norv Turner
    4) Mike Singletary
    5) Jim Mora

    All except Turner are in their 40’s

    Turner is not a solution, He is a interim type of guy, he would bet fired after a season.

    Rivera and Ryan both deserve a shot.

    Singletary still needs to grow.

    Mora would be a reasonable choice. The talent level of the Chargers is much higher then with the Falcons. Plus he wouldn’t have to deal with the idiot Vick. What coach wouldn’t want Philip Rivers (a coaches son) over Mike Vick?

    I’ll be happy with rivera, ryan or mora. In that order.

    If it’s turner I will be turning in my tickets.

  12. Matt S said,

    You want to change from a 3-4 to a 4-3 defense?

    They better bring somebody in that will run the 3-4 or we are in trouble.

    We were one or two plays away from the AFC Championship, no time to overhaul system. The product on the field is great, leave it alone!

    I like Ted Cottrell or Norm Chow

  13. danielbalc said,

    Rivera won’t necessarily change the system from 3-4 to 4-3 Did you hear his interview with XX? Ryan runs a 3-4, Singeltary runs a 3-4. Norm Chow? Not in the picture. Ted Cottrell? Where are you pulling these names out of?

  14. Matt S said,

    Well, Rivera will run what he knows or run something else less effectively, do not hire!

    Ryan and Cottrell I like B-more and NYJ are good 3-4 defenses just like us.

    Singletary no way, he has only been a coach in ANY capacity for like 6 years, forget about it.

    Jim Mora Jr is my top choice if he will run a 3-4 (I dont know his deal though)

  15. danielbalc said,

    You’re just racist.

    a lot of folks think Carroll coming out of college and bringing it Singeltary and Rivera is just to go through that ridiculous race rule. I’m not a Pete Carrol fan. College coaches haven’t got it done in the NFL since? Jimmie Johnson? I don’t know. But I look at the failed experiments of Saban and Spurrior and I shudder.

    I honestly think it’s Rivera, and I don’t have a problem with that. I would like Ryan as well because he has the pedigree.

    No to turner and No to Singeltary.

    Mora Jr is my third choice.

  16. Matt S said,

    Pete Carroll was pretty successful with the Patriots, winning record, a couple playoff appearances. I do not think we will be able to pay enough to get him, but he would be solid if we could.

    Why so high on Rivera? The Bears defense was average at best, look at the numbers we need a 3-4 guy like Ryan or Cottrell if we are talking realistically

  17. Albino Hayford said,

    Jimmy Johnson would be the perfect choice. You’d have to throw stacks of money at him, but he could dock his boat in SD Harbor and have all the comforts of Miami without the ridiculous heat, humidity and hurricanes.

    Call him. Beg him. Pay him.

  18. danielbalc said,

    Jimmy Johnson drives race cars. We don’t need him.

    I’m down with Ryan but I’ve got a very good feeling on Rivera. If the Bears had the Chargers offense, or even one of either Rivers, Gates or Tomlinson, don’t you think they would be super bowl champs?

    I don’t know that 3-4 is the biggest deal. Now without Edwards we may be better off in the 4-3.

    If you want to say the Bears D was “average at best” then you have to say our defense under Wade Phillips was slightly worse than “average at best”.

    The biggest deal for a head coach is organizing, motivation and game planning. Rivera does that. Ryan does that.

  19. Pablo Honey said,

    Wrong Daniel. Jimmie Johnson is the BEST NASCAR driver. Jimmy Johnson is the best choice for the Chargers new HC. Get it straight.

  20. danielbalc said,

    Pablo, You want JJ for HC? What’s wrong with you? I expect crazy stuff like that from the texan albino, but not from my so-cal bro.

  21. Alex said,

    Let me ask you guys something, what coach out there wouldn’t like to take over this team next year? If I was Tony Dungy I would consider taking this job.
    My recommendation is Steve Mariucci (former 49ers coach)
    Prior to announcing that Marty would stay in San Diego I heard he mentioned to his buddies that if the job opened up in San Diego he would love to come here. I haven’t heard his name lately but he has a ring and he knows how to win!!!
    BTW, I wonder what the odds are right now in Vegas for the Chargers to go all the way next year when they have the 21(maybe 20 I haven’t heard about Dielman yet)) starters and maybe the team trainer coming back?

  22. danielbalc said,

    team trainer. hahaha

    Tampa Bay dumped Dungy, brought in Grudem and BAM won the super bowl. But I don’t want to win just one, I want a dynasty, and I know we have the players. Who is a dynasty type of coach?

  23. Matt S said,

    Dick Vermeil baby! Didn’t you guys see the movie “Invincible”!

  24. Matt S said,

    Denny Green! I want to see some emotion at those post-game press conferences! Show me it hurts when you lose!

  25. AS said,

    Art Shell?

  26. danielbalc said,

    Bring back Bobby Ross with Natrone Means as his Offensive coordinator.

  27. itsasecret2u said,

    Hey, I actually know who you’re talking about, for once!!

  28. Matt S said,

    NASCAR in midst of cheating scandal?

    I guess NASCAR has officially arrived as a major professional sport in the United States.

  29. danielbalc said,

    There will be no more discussing of NASCAR on this blog. I, as blog master, reserve the right to delete comments deemed inappropriate or unsuitable. NASCAR is now in that category. I will not let your agenda be pushed in this environment.

  30. Pablo Honey said,

    Blog masters note: this post has been deleted due to its explicit content

  31. Pablo Honey said,

    Erroneous! Your fear of being outed as prejudicial towards 1 of our Country’s greatest sports is affecting your judgment! Are we still living in the United States? Does the 1st amendment cease to exist in your blog!? Let the people hear!!!

  32. danielbalc said,

    This is the united states of Me! I alone determine what speech is free. Say whatever you want in your own blog.

  33. danielbalc said,

    For instance I allow this tolerable form of blasphemy

    1 of our Country’s greatest sports

    to exist for the purpose of others seeing your sins and only to bring about repentance.

  34. Pablo Honey said,

    Be warned! You cannot stay in front of your computer forever! Soon you will be away for several hours and I will have indoctrinated your blog into the wonderful world of NASCAR. Soon all your threads will be hijacked with questions for the next race. You won’t be able to keep up. Your blog will soon belong to NASCAR nation. You all may as well join now, for I will soon assimilate you all.

  35. danielbalc said,

    Which star trek are you from? was it 7 or 8? “resistance is futile”. Sorry honey, but no matter how many posts you put up I can delete all of them, and even if I didn’t the Den visitors are wise enough to realize your foolishness. I have confidence that your lies will be filtered out by the truth of the REAL sports.

  36. Matt S said,

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Norv Turner? Welcome to mediocrity!

  37. danielbalc said,

    Ah DANG! I’m turning in my tickets

  38. danielbalc said,

    Well if the rumors be true and the hire cottrell as d-coordinator I may rethink.

    Ugh I feel sick.

  39. danielbalc said,

    the initial polls show that the whole world think this is a bad hire. Way to go AJ! give me a couple days to get my positive spin on. It’ll come.

  40. Pablo Honey said,

    We shoud have seen this coming. Smith & Spanos don’t want to change anything about the team, so they are bringing in the man who installed the offense 6 years ago to run it and be the head coach, and they are going to bring in Cottrell as the D-coordinator. I can’t say that these are bad hires in terms of maintaining continuity, but by bringing in Turner as the head coach you are bringing with him a culture of losing. He is a proven coordinator, one of the best in the business, but he has absolutely no success as a head coach, and it’s not like he hasn’t been given opportunities. This is bad bad bad. I would be happy today if it was Cottrell being named head coach and they were looking to bring in Turner as the coordinator, but I don’t know how this is going to work out.

  41. Pablo Honey said,

    Side note: Did you see the Daytona 500 yesterday! What an awesome race! NASCAR nation is pleased, even though our driver wrecked and finished 39th.

  42. danielbalc said,

    NASCAR is Golf with less athletic ability. ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  43. Matt S said,

    My initial response to the news was unfavorable, but after further review the Chargers did exactly what I wanted them to do.(see post 12)

    They kept the systemsin place on offense and defense, thus not having to tamper with the product on the field.

    Turner and Shelman will call plays in the same manner as last year, this is good.

    Ted Cottrell will run the same defensive scheme as we ran last year, this is also good.

    With a good draft and the re-signing of Dielman I see no reason we cannot challenge for a Super Bowl ring next year.

  44. Bruce S. said,

    FWIW, my survey of some of my football-knowledgeable buddies at work are all thumbs down on Turner. Even the most knowledgeable of my football buddies, who also was of the opinion that Schott managed the play-off game just fine.

    The big loser is Hudgins, who loses Turner as a good OC -which hurts his Niners, and gains Turner, a perennial loser, as the Charger HC.

    I guess we like picking up cast-offs from the Redskins.

    Oddly, I remember having the same exact feeling when we picked up Schott after Riley was thrown back. Another re-tread. Why can’t we try something different. Over time, Schott won me over.

    At this point, I don’t see Turner doing the same. At least Schott came here with a good record. Can’t say the same for Turner.

  45. danielbalc said,

    Well this is weird scenario. My favorite candidate for the job, Ron Rivera, has been hired by the Chargers, not as head coach (that went to my least favorite candidate), not as D-Coordinator (that went to Matt’s favorite candidate), but as the Linebackers coach. this is good news. This actually may be better news then I had originally thought. As stated earlier, Turner is an interim type of guy, and the best candidates for head coaches usually come from within. This is probably why turner got the job to begin with, he had previous experiences with the Chargers. NOW with Rivera in the fold he will acquire those experiences and build his reputation to be the Bolts next head coach. Unfortunately that doesn’t give too much promise for next season, but I feel much better with Rivera and Cottrell on the sidelines (or in the booth) then I would have felt about Turner just making this a “lets score 100” type of team.

  46. Albino Hayford said,

    Not convinced that they did the right thing. But firing Marty after all the other better coaches were hired was idiotic. I think you’re right…the Chargers will pay for Smith’s sins for one year before returning to glory. Such a tragic waste.

  47. danielbalc said,

    I don’t quite count them out because 10 and 6 is not out of the question. Unfortunately it may not be good enough to make the playoffs in the loaded AFC. Like Matt I’ll reserve my opinion until I see the draft and the resigning of dielmen. One thing I know is that the Chargers schedule is extremely difficult this next season they play every AFC team that made the playoffs this season except the Jets AND they play the bears, That’s 6 games against playoff teams plus 5 games against teams that missed the playoffs on the last day. Leaving only 5 games against push overs (raiders, vikings, lions and texans). The one plus for coaches who take over loser teams is they usually get a softer schedule, not the case for turner. I predict a 12 win season based on the talent of the team and the coordinators. With a guy NOT named Norv Turner I would have predicted another 14 win season. With Schottenheimer I would have said 19 and 0!

Leave a Reply

