Bottled Water and the silver spoon

January 29, 2007 at 7:11 pm (Politics thoughts, Pop thoughts, Random thoughts)

I was raised on bottled water. Sparklettes Water to be exact. I am not quite sure when or how my Mom got roped into having bottled water delivered bi-weekly to our home but I’m sure it was long before it became fashionable. thus my addiction began.
Now bottled water is so common that to not have bottled water is considered weird.

Now it is considered an employee right. Have you ever heard of an office without a water cooler?

Bottled water is so common in our society that it goes without question that if you’re thirsty you better be ready to pay a dollar or more to wet your whistle.

Ridiculous.

I am not really interested in questioning the ethics of bottled water as some on the religious left are doing, but I will question the logic behind it.

I probably pay about three dollars a week on bottled water. The only reason I don’t pay more is that my office has bottled water that I drink about a gallon of that a day. The only bottled water I pay for is the stuff at my house and since my wife and I are hardly ever home we only go through about 2 gallons a week. Then occasionally I will buy a bottle if we are going hiking or for a long drive or something. Ironically I really don’t have a problem with tap water. I get it at restaurants and at the gym on a daily basis. I estimate I drink about 3 gallons of tap water a week.

By now it should be common knowledge that our tap water is just as good and in some cases even better than the bottled water that we are paying big bucks for. If you don’t belive that, check out this web site.

This is the scary part. Even though I know it’s a waste of money to buy bottled water and I don’t dislike the taste of tap water I still am spending between $150 and 200 dollars a year on bottled water.

What is wrong with me?

And what is wrong with you? I figure I am probably on the conservative side of this financial lunacy. Take a moment and try and figure out how much money you are spending on bottled water and then let the faithful visitors to the Den know how crazy you are. Maybe you also have a reason why we do this and you’d be interested to share that as well.

DISCLAIMER: All comments to this post are subject to use as potential sermon illustrations!

86 Comments

  1. Pablo Honey said,

    Here’s the problem Daniel. The article states that Federal standards require bottled water to be as good as tap water but not better, but there is no specific standard established. Are we to assume that U.S. bottled water is of the same quality across the country? This article by the National Resources Defense Council shows studies on 19 major US cities and their water quality. You will see that San Diego graded fair in this study. I have a problem drinking tap water here in San Diego, it may be a psychological response to watching the water come out of a faucet, but I simply detest the taste. I have however consumed water from the tap in other parts of the country where the water appears to be of higher quality without complaint. On the other hand I have been conditioned my entire life to drink Sparkletts water just like you, and as a result my palate is conditioned to it’s taste. That is why I now purchase Sierra Springs fluoridated water for my home consumption. Sierra Springs & Sparkletts are both owned by Danone beverages and are essentially the exact same water. Overall bottled water may be more appealing because it is in fact flavored. Most all bottled waters contain certain minerals to make a more refreshing taste, and you just don’t get that with tap water.

  2. Matt said,

    I also do not like the taste of tap water. However, I do drink whatever “water” is served to me at a restaraunt as I always order water while out to eat. I also do not like the taste of some bottled waters, Arrowhead is by far the worst tasting water on the planet, but the one’s I do like I prefer over the tap.

    Maybe it is psychological, maybe I am the customer the bottled water companies like most, but I cannot bring myself to drink straight from the tap. As far as the filtration systems go, according to the charts I would be paying about the same to maintain the filtration system as I do to buy bottled water (about 200 a year) so the extra work is definitely not worth it.

  3. itsasecret said,

    THE PROBLEM: Tap water is so “clean” because it is chlorinated. Yuck. However, not all bottled water is created equally, either. Your best (and safest) bet is reverse-osmosis filtered water (removes chlorine and other chemicals used to treat water) that has minerals added back in for taste. We get our water at “water stores” that use this process.

    An added note: NEVER use hot tap water when cooking. This seems like it might be a good way to save some time when boiling water for pasta, rice, etc. Aside from the chemicals used in tap water to purify it (not destroyed by boiling), you will be ingesting a whole buffet of chemicals used to soften, etc. We go through 10-15 gallons of filtered water, weekly, most of which is used for cooking and herbal tea. 🙂 It’s 35 cents per gallon at the water store.

    You can, of course, use RO filtration systems right at your sink, but I don’t enjoy the taste as much because all of the minerals are removed. They also sell RO filtration systems for your whole house (for nuts like me who won’t even shower in chlorinated water unless I have to), but I have a problem with non-chlorniated water sitting in my pipes for any length of time. While I don’t want to ingest it, that chlorine serves an important purpose! So for now, I will stick to my water-store water and my chlorine filters on my showerheads. (BTW, Daniel, since I know what you’re thinking… I can’t be THAT crazy because they sell those filters at Home Depot. I don’t have to go to one of my hug-an-organic-tree websites to get them.)

  4. Danielbalc said,

    Good news. I got a volunteer to undergo a blind taste test this weekend. She, like Matt, insisted that Arrowhead water has a disgusting flavor that she simply cannot tolerate. We will see how much she detests this water when compared with other waters. Give me some suggestions as to what brands of water we should use for our taste test.

    I don’t think you are crazy secret. I read that showering in tap water exposes you to the same threats that drinking tap water exposes you to.

    The point however isn’t the inherent dangers of our water systems, but rather the opposite. Our water even with all the chemicals in it (or maybe because of) is better than just about any water in the world. So we have to psych ourselves into thinking that we need/deserve better. It’s like we are a nation of people driving BMW’s who feel like we deserve to be driving Mercedes’ (maybe Matt can come up with a better analogy).

    The question really isn’t about our need for better water but rather why we perceive it as an actual NEED. I think it’s telling about the power of advertisements. Both Pablo and Matt acknowledge the likelihood of their paranoia being based on “psychological” issues. If we can get Secret to acknowledge her “psychological” issues then we will really be making some progress 😉

  5. Albino Hayford said,

    You got to love the morons who complain about the high price of gas, THEN PROCEED TO SPEND MORE MONEY ON WATER! We have been brainwashed, my friends. I get the bottled water I drink in my car at the local grocery store…36 bottles for $4.99. But if you are into water with fancy labels, you need to watch Penn and Teller discuss this issue on their cable tv show. Their language is pretty raw, but they make great sense. I especially enjoyed rich people singing the praises of supposedly fancy water that came from a hose in the alley.

  6. danielbalc said,

    Albino acknowledges he has been brainwashed, but I am assuming that you still don’t drink tap.

    What constitutes “fancy labels”?

    What is the most you have spent on a bottle of water?

  7. danielbalc said,

    Had to delete that link ‘bino. Too much for my site.

  8. Matt said,

    The rest of the world has alot more health problems than we do. Is it possible that some of those problems can be traced to the poor drinking water being consumed?

    BTW, I am dissapointed to know that I have not yet reached the top rung of the materialistic ladder, but that I now have to buy a Mercedes to achieve this most important goal of mine. 🙂

  9. itsasecret said,

    I HAVE PSYCHOLOGICAL ISSUES??? *begins sobbing hysterically*

    Ahem. I agree that Arrowhead is disgusting. I can’t stand it. I also can’t stand tap water. You should try Albertsons brand drinking water for the taste test. It’s actually really good. They have some different kinds, but I think the good kind is the one with a green cap.

    So I have a question re: your real question. What is “good” water? Water without a lot of microrganisms? Water without a lot of chemicals? Water without a lot of dirt? Honestly, I would take dirt and bugs over chemicals. So our water may be among the best in the world if your definition of “good” is no dirt, no microrganisms. As for the microrganisms, a lot of that depends on what your body is used to, I had a friend whose dad grew up in the Rocky Mountains and had lived there all his life. We were hiking with him one day, water bottles in hand, and he leaned over and started drinking water straight out of a stream like a deer. I was slightly appalled, having been a bottled-water baby myself, but he explained that he had been drinking this fresh water all his life and never got sick. His body was used to whatever little creatures took up residence in that water. Granted, this would be relatively clean glacier-water, but still…

    So anyway… what were we talking about? Oh yeah. I really don’t know the answer to your question. Do you think bottled water and our perceived “need” for it is just another example of the “American consumer” in us all? “I want bigger, better, faster, newer, more, NOW!”

  10. danielbalc said,

    YES! Exactly secret! That is exactly what it is! A product of our American consumerism.

    The illustration of your friends Dad is a great one. How about this… One year when i was in junior high we had a lot of rains. I used to hike around the hills and fields of my house on a daily basis then. Well all of the rains brought forth fun little streams in my natural playgrounds. I made it a regular practice of mine to drink from those streams. Thinking of that now makes me sick to my stomach, but it sure didn’t kill me!

    shoot, it’s good for kids to eat dirt and drink tap water. Who hasn’t?

    BTW Matt, yes exactly again. The rest of the world has much weaker water standards then our municipalities. This is a world health crisis that needs addressing. Did you read the article at the top that questioned the ethics of bottled water consumption? (I just checked my blog stats and of the 30 views to this thread only 1 person has read this “ethics” link. WOW!)

    Dangit you dragged me into this discussion. I happen to agree with the religious left on this topic. We are in serious danger of making water a commodity and ensuring ourselves of future wars similar to the wars that are fought over oil now (I’m not talking about Iraq) if we continue to increase our consumption of bottled water. Scary, but a very real possibility.

  11. itsasecret said,

    Could it ever really come to that (water wars) when we have the devices readily available to make filtered water? We can purchase these, use them in our home, and make our own fancy water! We can’t exactly do that with oil… And oil doesn’t rain down from the sky. At least not yet. I wonder if the El Nino stream you were drinking out of as a Jr.-Higher was full of “acid rain.” 🙂

  12. Albino Hayford said,

    It’s a scam. I saw a program on MSNBC a year ago in which an executive with Pepsico was laughing about Dasani, their bottled water. He said it cost pennies to bottle, no money on carbonation, and overall vastly cheaper than Pepsi to create, but, to compete with other brands, they HAD TO PRICE IT HIGHER THAN PEPSI or the consumer would not take it seriously. Now, it outsells Pepsi. “Go figure,” he concluded. Never underestimate the stupidity of the American consumer.

    I drink tap at home, but bottled water in the car, because disposable is better for me.

  13. Albino Hayford said,

    Sorry, apparently it was a CocaCola executive…just checked.

  14. Albino Hayford said,

  15. Albino Hayford said,

    Dude, my last comment got dedected as spam and sent to your blog’s purgatory. It was just a link to an article showing that “Dasani” is the same as tap water.
    http://www.commondreams.org/headlines04/0304-04.htm

  16. itsasecret said,

    Dasani tastes funny to me…

    But my bottled water is really cheap! 35 cents a gallon is not bad and it’s enviornmentally-friendly to keep reusing my sturdy bottles. So if I spend $.35/gallon at 10 gallons per week, I spend less than $190 per year on good water that doesn’t have chemicals OR dirt OR microrganisms. How much does everyone spend on soda, per year, hmm?

  17. danielbalc said,

    It HAS come to that in developing countries and much of Africa. It’s nothing new, read Genesis 26. “Water Wars” as you call them, are based on the need to survive, something we take for granted being raised jumping in the sprinklers, sliding on slip and slides and filling our kiddie pools with the hose.

    I’m not going to pretend to be some sort of radical regarding this subject but I will point out how stupid we are when i see it. And as far as our bottled water consumption goes… We’re stupid.

  18. danielbalc said,

    At least with soda you are paying for something. Yeah it’s sugar, corn syrup and food coloring but at least it’s something. Oh yeah I almost forgot, the advertisements. That’s MOST of what we are paying for.

  19. itsasecret said,

    So then do you suggest tap water? What about exposure to the chemicals in our tap water?

    I agree that we are stupid when we spend $1.00 or even two on a little bottle of water. And don’t even get me started on Evian… But there are smart ways to “be stupid.”

    And water being a commodity is nothing new. That’s why civilizations have always been built around water sources. This bottled mess has resulted from our becoming involved with cleaning natural water. We have added loads of chemicals, mainly chlorine, in an effort to clean our water. Well, great, but now it tastes bad and, in my opinion, poses a health risk. I’m not saying that cleaning the water is a bad idea (as you and Matt discussed, dirty water is a huge problem in developing countries), but this is the result of our technology.

  20. Matt S said,

    There is a company a friend of mine used to work for called Healing Waters. They make huge water filtration systems and partner with churches in less fortunate countries to distribute purified water to the city and at the same time preach the gospel.
    It is a great deal all around and speaks to the problem Daniel brings up about less fortunate countries being “priced out” of the healthy drinking water business.

  21. itsasecret said,

    Yeah, soda is even MORE expenisve for something even less beneficial. It’s not only probably made with tap water but has its own chemical colorings and flavorings. It also has almost a dozen teaspoons of sugar per can. How much does a can of soda even cost nowadays? I remember in high school, it was $1.00 out of the vending machines for a 20 oz bottle. So $1.00 for 20 oz of liquid disease is a reasonable buy, but $.35 for a gallon of water is stupidity?

  22. itsasecret said,

    Matt, that sounds like an awesome program.

  23. Matt S said,

    And I do not think we are “stupid” for consuming bottled water. We are blessed to have a choice when it comes to this particular issue. It would be nice to give the rest of the world the same choice without the price gouging we experience (and the price gouging the middle east exerts on the rest of the world in regards to oil)

  24. danielbalc said,

    What about exposure to the chemicals in our tap water?

    It’s the same exposure in bottled water. That’s what ALL the facts tell us. The health risks you are talking about are few and far between and far and away better “risks” then water at any other point in history.

    BTW even your particular choice for water, (buying it from water stores and filtering your showers) may be wise and a worthwhile investment of your finances, but it still can’t protect you 100%.

  25. Matt S said,

  26. danielbalc said,

    Matt, it’s the fact that we choose bottled water over tap at 1000 times the price that makes us stupid. It’s about consumer confidence. We are mostly paying for the advertisers, like aquafina, that tell us “water makes you happy”. It’s true, drinking water is great for us all, but PAYING the ridiculous amounts we pay for water? That doesn’t make me happy, that’s not great for me.

    Water filtration in developing countries is awesome! My cousin went on a missions trip a year or so ago and dug a well in Thailand (I think). Connecting water and the gospel together is a very effective evangelism tool started by Jesus (John 4) and one that we need to follow.

  27. danielbalc said,

    Great site Matt! Love it. I think I may get the youth on board with that after we do the 30 hour famine in May.

  28. itsasecret said,

    I agree that advances have been made. I am all for cleaning water to make it safe, But chlorine is not a safe chemical to consume, whether through drinking tap water or otherwise. http://www.pure-earth.com/chlorine.html Check out this site for some facts about chlorine and its effects. So my question to you was: Do you suggest we drink tap water? If so, what about the risks that chlorine-consumption poses? According to the research posted in the article I linked to, chlorine has been linked to instances of cancer (bladder, colon) and heart disease.

    Having done a lot of research on the potential hazards of prolonged exposure to chemicals, I try to limit my family’s exposure to the best of my ability. Nothing will ever protect me from these sorts of things 100%. But wearing a seatbelt is not a 100% guarantee I will not die in a car crash. I’m still buckling up.

  29. Matt S said,

    In regards to the ethical article:

    I wonder how far these people are willing to go to insure available drinking water for all.

    What if violence is necessary to overthrow an oppressive government that is witholding this “right” from its citizens (sound familiar) What makes this issue any different from what we are experiencing now in Iraq?

    I would imagine the left would be all for it until it involves the lives of our American soldiers. Then all of a sudden it would become a “concocted” war based on money.

    The fact is we are heading for the same situation we have in Iraq currently.

  30. Matt S said,

    I want to drink something that tastes good, tap does not, some bottled does. Ff I have to pay for this then so be it. If the time comes when I am unable to afford good tasting water then I will gladly drink the tap because dying is slightly worse.

  31. Pablo Honey said,

    I’ve gotta go with Matt on this one. U.S. citizens are spending billions of dollars per year on bottled water. Why would anyone want to stop that? That’s money that isn’t being spent on all other forms of beverages, including alcohol and pure-sugar sodas. I think it is a major boon to our country’s health as a whole that bottled water has become such a trendy item to purchase. I just can’t see advising someone against paying 3 bucks for a bottle of something they SHOULD be drinking. Sure you can get it cheaper somewhere else, but by paying a ridiculous markup you still get healthy refreshment and your helping the economy! No harm there…

  32. itsasecret said,

    But only slightly. 😉

  33. danielbalc said,

    Sorry Secret but you aren’t getting a “good link” pat on the back. That particular site doesn’t stir any fear in me. In fact it demonstrates that chlorine saves far more lives then it risks. The two types of cancer that it increases the likelihood of, rectal and colon, are both very low on the mortality rates of different cancers. I’m not saying I would want either of those, but the fact is, there is a risk of cancer causing agents in just about everything. Again, I respect your decision to try to protect your family and you are going about it the best way (point of use products), but that doesn’t change the fact that our tap water is just as good as bottled water.

  34. danielbalc said,

    It’s not helping the economy though pablo. It’s hurting it. Three liquids, Water, Coffee and Gasoline are driving up inflation. the first two because of ADVERTISEMENTS! The second because of foolish legislators trying to “protect the environment”.

    We can’t do anything about the gasoline but we can and should do something about the coffee and the water. Don’t pay more for it. Thats the beauty of capitalism, when we use it to our advantage. We set the market value. Or at least we should.

  35. danielbalc said,

    BTW anyone who want to volunteer for the blind taste test to see how much better bottled water tastes then tap is more then welcome. It will be this Saturday.

  36. itsasecret said,

    How is that a fact? (bottled water being just as good as tap) Again, I say this depends on your definition of “good.” The FDA and I have different definitions of “good” on a lot of things…

    The point is not to try to stir fear… I don’t live in fear. I just try to make the most informed choices I can. And just because a cancer has a low mortality rate doesn’t mean it isn’t painful and terrible. Heart disease happens to be of particular concern to me because I have a heart… issue and need to do everything in my power to maintain cardiovascular health.

    Of course, given the choice between dirty, completely untreated water and tap water, I would choose tap. I think I have stated that I think cleaning the water is a good thing! But I still don’t think you have proven that our bottled water consumption is stupid. Also remember what I said initially: not all bottled water is created equally. One must be aware of the processes used to clean then purify one’s water if chemical health is the goal.

    This is totally like at the hotel in Vienna when Athena had to separate us during our government control of food/drugs discussion. 🙂

  37. Matt S said,

    READ POST #28

    This should end all discussions, as it is a fine piece of literary analysis. 🙂

  38. danielbalc said,

    Not totally, secret (BTW you are losing your anonymity when you talk about those kind of things).

    Not proved my point?

    I am not debating point of use products, those are statistically the best way to purify water. I am debating bottled water (arrowhead, sparkletts, aquafina, evian etc.) Those are not any healthier than tap water according to the EPA and FDA. They are the same and (if they don’t cross state lines) possibly less healthy. I didn’t make this up. It’s out there for anyone who wants to read.

    Paying 1000 times the amount for the same quality is stupid. How is this even debatable?

  39. danielbalc said,

    Matt, this subjective analysis of what “tastes good” is based more on your television watching then on your taste buds. Thats the scary part. Did you see Jim’s link to the penn and teller show before I took it down? 75% of people actually preferred tap water over bottled water in a blind taste test. people who CLAIMED they didn’t like the taste of tap water couldn’t tell the difference. That’s the point.

  40. Matt S said,

    It is all about taste boys and girls!

    I am predestined to die at an appointed time (shout out to all you Calvinists out there) and there is nothing I am going to do or not do to change that.

    If someone can make my tap water taste as good as the bottled water I buy, then I will stop buying said bottled water. Until that glorious day, bottled water it is.

  41. Matt S said,

    I am in the 25% group. I can tell the difference.

  42. Pablo Honey said,

    Ah…. Secret you’ve given yourself away…. for many moons have I pondered your identity. And now it was revealed when you identified yourself as having been with Daniel & Athena in Vienna! Now I can proceed with my plan of interblogal domination! Be afraid!

  43. Matt S said,

    RE: 38

    Short of suicide, of course.

  44. Pablo Honey said,

    1 word for you: floaties…. tap waters got em’, bottled doesn’t. (At least the bottled water I drink doesn’t.)

  45. danielbalc said,

    hahaha. I want matt at the taste test! The gauntlet has been thrown down! Put your money where your mouth is boy! What is your preferred bottled water? We will put it in there.

  46. itsasecret said,

    My debate is about the definition of quality/health. That’s all. Are we looking at microrganisms? Then yes, tap and bottled will both be “clean.” Are we looking at dirt? Then tap and bottled will both be “clean.” I will have to search, but my guess would be that the FDA and EPA are referring to these qualities. If we are talking about chemicals, tap water is NOT filtered to rid itself of the chemicals used to clean it. Most bottled waters are. They would not be equally clean or “good” on this point.

    I’m not terribly concerned about my anonymity. I really just did it in the first place because in my first comment to you, I made a joke about “a more inflated ego,” or something. Then I just kept using the same name and posting comments that I knew would reveal my identity to you. But I am working on my own blog right now (sigh), so then everyone who wants to look at that will know.

  47. Matt S said,

    No doubt, has anyone tried to make coffee, or anything else for that matter, at the church using the tap? That is one scary experience that should dissuade anyone from drinking tap unless absolutely necessary. It looks like lake water after a boat just went through! Nasty!

  48. itsasecret said,

    I can SO taste the difference too. Heck, I can SMELL the difference. I will take your bottled water challenge any day.

  49. danielbalc said,

    Welcome to the cult….. err club.

    you’ll love the more inflated ego you get when you see 37 people read your recipe for organic cookies and why black is the new pink.

  50. Matt S said,

    I have no problem taking the test. One small glass of tap water and one small glass of Aquafina, Dasani, or whatever.

    The problem arises when you combine a bunch of tastes the palate gets confused and soon you cannot tell the difference. Just like spraying a bunch of different colognes on yourself and trying to determine which smells better

  51. itsasecret said,

    Re 47:

    Oooo, you’re pushing the buttons now! As if I, Secret, would EVER post a blog on why black is the new pink. For shame! It’s all going to be about politics, religion, culture, and the finer things in life. *coughcough* My first post is to be titled: “Why Daniel is always wrong.”

    BTW, black is the new black. You can’t beat black.

  52. Pablo Honey said,

    Matt makes a good point in 48. (Nice number by the way.) You can’t have a ton of different waters, or the distinction is lost. Unless you have some way to “reset” your taste buds, like they have you sniff coffee in between different kinds of fragrances in comparisons.

  53. itsasecret said,

    Good white bread is a standard palate cleanser for wine tastings, I believe. Would that work here?

  54. itsasecret said,

    Another standard palate cleanser? Water. 🙂

  55. Danielbalc said,

    you guys are already making excuses? Embarrassing.

  56. Matt said,

    not excuses, just a fair way to conduct the experiment.

  57. danielbalc said,

    4 beverages max. how’s that sound?

  58. danielbalc said,

    secret, I was going to say, “on why black is a slimming color” for your blog topics but was afraid of backlash. Got it anyways.

  59. danielbalc said,

    please note number 14 and 15 just showed up because the blog thought they were spam. Worthwhile links that get a “good link” pat on the back!

  60. itsasecret said,

    Ha! Before those links (14 & 15) even showed up I said Dasani tastes funny! I’m serious, there is a taste difference between truly filtered water and tap. I really like Pablo’s test the best: which of these waters has floaties? K, then I’m drinking the other one.

    In order to get a “good link” pat on the back, does the info in the link have to support your conclusions? 😉

  61. Danielbalc said,

    Not necessarily support MY conclusions but at least back up your own point. Your link didn’t do that. It demonstrated a spurious opinion based on limited research. Whenever you see the word “may” scattered throughout an article it’s hard to buy into it.

  62. kid in africa said,

    What’s sad is the fixation on bottled water while kids in AAfrica are drinking water that is killing them. People that refuse to drink tap water in America should be shot.

  63. itsasecret2u said,

    My point in referencing that article was not about drinking tap water so much as proving that chlorine is not a good thing to ingest. For me, possible links (“may”) to any form of cancer or heart disease are reasons enough to research other beverage options.

    I do wonder why there is such a controversy about bottled water when there appears to be none for soda-drinking. Carbonated soft drinks still outsell bottled water 5 to 1 and we’ll pay even more for a soda.

  64. danielbalc said,

    Breathing air “may” cause cancer. Parking in a garage “may” cause cancer. Running an air conditioner “may” cause cancer. Not running 5 times a week “may” cause heart disease.

    NONE for soda drinking? They are banning soda machines in schools! They are going to tax em like they are cigarettes within 10 years. The soda controversy is a shame on our big government society.

    The reason the government should be concerned with water is because it happens to be a local municipalities responsibility to provide clean water to it’s citizens. They don’t have to provide us with “clean soda” and they shouldn’t force us through taxation to be healthier (like they’ve done with cigarettes).

    FWIW yesterday i purchased a 32 ounce reusable water bottle so that I will stop being a contributer to the evils of a bottled water society!

  65. danielbalc said,

    Oh and water has quickly become more expensive then soda in many cases.

  66. danielbalc said,

    I have concluded that there are three reasons why people drink bottled water. Please put yourself under 1 of these reasons….

    1. Health

    2. Flavor

    3. Label

    I think I can put secret under 1, Matt under 2 and Pablo under 3 (with a little bit of 2). Agree or disagree?

  67. itsasecret2u said,

    Agreed for my part, though I’ve been a bottled-drinker my whole life and the majority of my life it was because of 2.

    Side note on tap water: Dave was talking to someone the other day whose son works for the city. He’s a diver and it’s part of his job to go into those water storage tanks (our tap water). He said the water inside is cloudy and murky. Also, upon examining the bottom of one particular tank, he found a dead bird and a dead rat. Sick. Those tanks are supposedly sealed!

  68. danielbalc said,

    I thought of a fourth reason.

    Safety.

    Terrorist COULD conceivably attack our water supply like in Batman Begins and put a fear inducing hallucinogen that causes us to be afraid of every little thing.

    Wait a second… maybe they already have.

  69. itsasecret2u said,

    Daniel, don’t be ridiculous. The toxin was not effective when ingested, only when vaporized. Even if we don’t drink the water, we will still fall victim to the attack when they use their giant microwave. Let’s not be silly.

  70. Matt S said,

    FLAVA FELLAS, ALL ABOUT FLAVA

  71. danielbalc said,

    What about hot showers? wouldn’t this have the same affect? Do we not inhale the chemicals in our shower water?

  72. itsasecret2u said,

    Hmmmmm… good point (and another good reason to have a chlorine filter on your showerhead!). So why wasn’t everyone in Batman Begins all crazy-like when they got out of the shower?

  73. danielbalc said,

    That, my dear, is the ultimate question.

    I can’t tell you how many times that thought has paraded through my imagination as I anxiously lay in bed trying to fall asleep.

  74. itsasecret2u said,

    I……. er, wow.

    Maybe they take cold showers in Gotham? Ugh, SO WEAK! They should have had you as a technical adviser.

  75. danielbalc said,

    It doesn’t matter too much though. That movie still rocks. If anything that little detail dropped it out of the top 5 of my favorite movies but not below 10.

  76. itsasecret2u said,

    I think we’ve watched that movie maybe… 10 times? LOVE it. Strangely, I never thought of the shower thing.

  77. danielbalc said,

    NEVER? What a weirdo.

  78. Pablo Honey said,

    I’ve gotta disagree with your labeling me as a “label” water buyer. I probably care less about the label than anyone in this discussion. As long as it is not tap water, I like it. I even like arrowhead water, which everyone else has already described their hatred for. The only “label” I care about is Sierra Springs, but in all honestly I only buy that water because they were the first water company to come to our door and offer their services. Take your “label” label somewhere else please!

  79. Echo_ohcE said,

    I drink tap water all the time. But I have a faucet with a built in filter. I don’t really understand it. But I use that sometimes.

    However, I do have a favorite bottled water. Dasani tastes funny. But the best water in the world is Evian. I LOVE that stuff, especially cold. Oh man, cold Evian makes me feel good and makes me happy. It’ll put me in a good mood all day. I almost never drink it though, because I can never find it around here. And it’s outrageously expensive. But it’s wonderful.

    E

  80. danielbalc said,

    I never would have picked Echo for an evian drinker. I guess you can’t judge a book by it’s cover. Unless of course the cover says “charismatic” 😉

  81. Echo_ohcE said,

    Why wouldn’t you have pegged me thus? That stuff is delicious. I’d be surprised if there was anyone on earth who would fail to acknowledge that fact.

    E

  82. danielbalc said,

    Well thanks to everyone for their discussions on bottled water. I have decided for me and my family that our water will be purchased at a store called “water for life”. There are 4 factors for this decision.

    1. Though I read that tap water is as healthy as bottled water I still have a paranoia and for some reason seeing the big machine in the back of their store makes me feel healthier.

    2. Though I think the taste difference is minor I will submit that I think I can tell.

    3. The water store water is much cheaper then bottled water from the grocery store but just a little more then the machines they set up outside (scary). It’s 30 cents a gallon. compared to 1.29 for a gallon of sparkletts.

    4. The location is perfect. It’s right next to the gym and within walking distance of my home. I really enjoy supporting local businesses because it gives you the opportunity to get to know the employees.

  83. itsasecret2u said,

    😀 That’s where we go! Dave does the gym/water store thing too.

  84. itsasecret2u said,

    Btw, Dave and I did a blind taste-test at home with tap and bottled and I could smell the difference. I didn’t even have to drink it. haha I’m sorry I missed your official one.

  85. The Donut said,

    Water for Life is our family’s choice as well. It definitely beats Arrowhead..by a long shot!

  86. danielbalc said,

    I get the added benefit of carrying several gallons of water to my house. It’s really good for the shoulders. Hopefully one day I’ll be as buff as the culligan man.

Leave a Reply

