Love or Money? I need your help!

December 21, 2006 at 7:23 pm (Sports thoughts)

How much would you have to receive for you to sell something you love? A family heirloom? A work of art? A collectible? Do you have an object in your life that you simply would not sell for any price?

“I wouldn’t miss it for the world” we say, but isn’t that just because we know that no one will offer us the world?

In the next few weeks I will have a difficult decision to make. I have come into possession of something very valuable. It cost me a great deal (400+) dollars, but as it turns out could be worth upwards of 200% more. Not 200 dollars more, but 200% more!

Let me explain.

2 tickets to the Divisional playoff game Chargers vs. TBD, Face value $230

2 tickets to the AFC championship game Chargers vs. TBD, Face value $320

Total face value of all four tickets $550

Current ebay price $899

Current Stubhub price for Divisional playoff game $520

Current Stubhub price for AFC Championship Game $820

That means if I sold my tickets on Stub Hub I could make a profit of more than $1000.

And it’s conceivable that these prices could go up!

The dilemma I face is quite simply love or money. I’ll tell you right now I LOVE the chargers more than I would love $1,000. But is there a price high enough that I would love more than the Chargers? if so what would that price be? How much is the minimum profit you would have to make for you to give up something you love? If you were me, at what point would you cave?

on a much more frightening and serious note check out this blog

29 Comments

  1. Jessica said,

    Sell the tickets and buy Athena a computer!!!!

  2. Pablo Honey said,

    I can’t even believe you are considering this. No amount of money will replace the joy that will reside in your heart after witnessing the Chargers lay waste to 2 AFC rivals en route to their first ever Championship. Get your priorities straight man.

  3. Midge said,

    Cost: Super Bowl Tickets!!

  4. pot said,

    Midge, are you going to be selling your playoff tix in hopes of going to Miami then?

  5. Pablo Honey said,

    There will be no selling of any playoff tickets for any reasons, period! You are not justified in selling your divisional and championship round tickets in order to pay for Super Bowl tickets. These are home games and the Chargers need your support! You are free to sell other items to pay for Super Bowl tickets when the time comes. I suggest items such as: cars, computers, HDTVs, children, and your own body. These are perfectly reasonable means to purchase Super Bowl tickets. I must reiterate… NO SELLING OF PLAYOFF TICKETS!!!

  6. Matt said,

    Man Law #5502 “One shall never sell playoff tickets for any price or any reason! There is no amount of money or personal cirmcumstance that can justify such a blatant act of treason. Your team has shed blood, sweat, and tears for you for 17 weeks, it is your moral duty to support them in there greatest time of need!”

    The men of the square table approve this message!

  7. danielbalc said,

    Matt, how much do YOU pay for your tickets?

  8. danielbalc said,

    isn’t there a man law about paying rent and how nice it would be to have that taken care of for a month or 2?

  9. Matt said,

    We all have mortgages, rent payments, car payments, all kinds of bills and they are always going to be there. So you skip a month or two of rent, big deal you will be paying again in no time. That is why you have a job, to pay the bills. We are sports fans because it allows us the opportunity to escape that daily grind and enjoy rooting for the home town team. Why would you use your hard-earned money to pay for an entire football season worth of tickets, only to sell the tickets to the games that actually matter? Use the money you work for all week to pay the bills, and enjoy the totality of this special season by going to the games.

  10. danielbalc said,

    TOUCHE! i submit to the man law

  11. Albino Hayford said,

    Mark 10 (King Jim Version)

    21 Jesus looked at him and loved him. “One thing you lack,” he said. “Go, sell every playoff ticket you have and give to a poor, South Texas preacher, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” 22 At this the man’s face fell. He went away sad, because he had great seats.

  12. RubeRad said,

    Personally, I’d sell the tickets, because if I kept them I might end up forgetting to go to the game anyways. I’ve never been to a pro football game, and I watch only one football game a year (and it’s never all that Super). It’s more likely that I’ll see the inside of Petco Park before I die, than I go to a Charger game. I guess my Daddy raised me wrong.

    Regarding your scary link, however, here’s one response that’s worth watching (to the end)!

  13. Greggster said,

    Thanks Jim for sending me to this thread. It is nice to see the principles of Affections Theology so clearly presented. Does he love money or the Chargers more? Where does his affections lie? Even a president with the LOWEST IQ of all other presidents could figure that one out.

  14. Echo_ohcE said,

    If the game is on a Sunday, perhaps the 4th commandment has something to say.

    So then the question isn’t love or money, the question is obedience or football.

    Does God command us to go to Church on Sundays? If not, why do all Christians feel the need to do it? If he does command us, when do we have the right to make exceptions? Do we ever have the right to make exceptions to God’s other commands?

    But I’m sure for talking like this, some people will call me a legalist. But we don’t think it’s ok to make exceptions for God’s other commands. The Sabbath is one of the 10 Commandments. God tells us to have no other gods before him. But do we make exceptions to this rule? Do we say, well, there’s this really fun and exciting thing they do every now and then at the local Hindu temple, where they practice this really cool form of worship, and once in a while, on special occasions only, it’s ok to go do that. You know, as long as it’s only once in a while.

    The second commandment says that we shouldn’t make any idols. But every now and then, we enjoy – as a family – a pretty neat annual tradition in our home. See, once a year, we get together and carve a block of wood into an image of Zeus. We don’t do it all the time, and when we carve it, we always sell it. We don’t keep it around in our house and worship it. But you know, when we do this, it’s only once a year, so when we carve out the image of Zeus, we ask him to bless us. And he does. But it’s only once a year.

    The third commandment is not to use the name of God in vain. But once in a while, if you get mad enough, you can say, “Jesus Christ!” But only once in a while, when you get mad enough, like when someone cuts you off. Sure, the command says not to do it, but once in a while is ok.

    The fourth commandment is to honor the Sabbath. That means go to church and set apart the day to God. But once in a while, we ditch church to go to a football game. It’s ok. It’s just once in a while when our team makes the playoffs.

    So let me get this straight. God commands you to set the day apart to him, and to go to Church, and you say, “Ok, God, I’ll do that, just as long as the Chargers aren’t in the playoffs. But once the Chargers are in the playoffs, and I get tickets, I mean, come on, even Jesus wouldn’t have obeyed you under these circumstances.”

    But perhaps you would object, saying that Jesus was constantly violating the Sabbath in the gospels. I can see why you would say that, but ask yourself if Jesus ever violated ANY law of God.

    You see, the Pharisees made up a lot of laws themselves. For example, after Jesus had healed a paralytic, he told him to pick up his mat and go home. The Pharisees were offended that the guy was carrying his mat. Why? Was it because God had forbidden it? Obviously not if Jesus (GOD) had just told the man to do it. But they had this ridiculous understanding, which also pushed them to accuse the disciples of violating the Sabbath when they plucked heads of grain and ate them on the Sabbath. But who among the Pharisees skipped eating on Sabbath? Guess what? You’re allowed to cook on Sabbath. You have to eat. We don’t have a legalistic attitude about not working on the Sabbath. The point of the Sabbath is to set apart the day to the Lord for the purpose of attending worship services.

    No, it’s not ok to skip a worship service for ANY reason. If you HAVE to skip, say because your wife went into labor, then that’s one thing. If you’re sick, ok, that’s fine. But if you want to go to a FOOTBALL GAME, you’re telling God that the football game is more important to you than giving him his due worship.

    Why not show God how much you relish the priviledge you’ve been given and give up your tickets in order to worship God? Why not say to God, “I’m grateful that you’ve saved me, and you ARE worthy of my worship, moreso than a bunch of overpaid atheletes who compete for the glory of an earthly city.” But when you do say it, don’t expect God to be all that flattered, because after all, you’ve only spoken what is plain and evident to everyone. Of course he’s more worthy of worship than the stupid atheletes. No one will be impressed that you could figure that out. But for some reason, everyone tosses common sense out the window when it comes to worshiping God and setting apart his Sabbath.

    I don’t really care if you believe in the Sabbath or not. At least you can admit that God has commanded us to worship him every Sunday. You have to admit that. That’s WHY we do it. If God hadn’t commanded it, believe me, we wouldn’t do it.

  15. Albino Hayford said,

  16. Echo_ohcE said,

    Saying that God gives commands and that we should obey them is not legalism.

    Legalism = works based salvation.

    The only motivation to obedience is NOT to earn salvation.

    As Christians, we believe that we obey BECAUSE we have been saved. That doesn’t mean we compromise on God’s commands because we’re already forgiven. Our forgiveness should motivate us to be all the MORE zealous for good works.

    Rom 3:31 Do we then overthrow the law by this faith? By no means! On the contrary, we uphold the law.

    1Pe 1:13 Therefore, preparing your minds for action, and being sober-minded, set your hope fully on the grace that will be brought to you at the revelation of Jesus Christ.
    1Pe 1:14 As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance,
    1Pe 1:15 but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct,
    1Pe 1:16 since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.”
    1Pe 1:17 And if you call on him as Father who judges impartially according to each one’s deeds, conduct yourselves with fear throughout the time of your exile,
    1Pe 1:18 knowing that you were ransomed from the futile ways inherited from your forefathers, not with perishable things such as silver or gold,
    1Pe 1:19 but with the precious blood of Christ, like that of a lamb without blemish or spot.

  17. Echo_ohcE said,

  18. danielbalc said,

    Echo, first of all I want to thank you for keeping your posts relativley brief and just linking people over to your more detailed statments.

    Secondly… You cannot be serious.

    Are you telling me that after church on Sundays you do NONE of the following…

    Exercise
    Watch Television
    Go on the Internet
    Journal
    Study
    Go to A Movie
    Read a book other than the Bible
    Go shopping
    Have a few drinks
    Smoke a cigar
    Write book-length blog entries

    Please try and explain how any of thee is different then going to football game.

    Once again you are letting your personal preferences dictate your theological convictions.

  19. NJShawn said,

    Hey, Big D.

    I am a realist. If someone is willing to offer you a serious premium over anything you have purchased, take it. And the argument that states you will be less of a man or fan is hogwash: your actions will allow someone who wants to pay hundreds more to witness the game, while allowing you to relieve some of the financial stress in this daily grind.

    I also have a big problem with the thought that it is betrayal to sell your tickets during the playoffs, because your team has poured out blood, sweat and tears for YOU. That is about as big a lie to come down since Satan told Eve “you won’t die.” YOUR team could care nothing for you, other than you spend every last frickin’ dollar “supporting” their effort to…get more money from you!!!

    American Football, and professional sports, in general, is all about money. The players do not espouse anything close to a Christian attitude, or for that matter anything remotely resembling sportsmanship. They are simply part of a system that promotes self over team, and money over purity.

    Wow! I must have needed to spew, and point that football-loving finger back at myself…or maybe I’m just bitter that the stupid Cowboys lost to the Eagles Sunday…don’t know. But I do know (and I’m speaking as a fantasy league 2006 Champ): football is ONLY a diversion. Sometimes it’s fun, sometimes it aggravating, sometimes it’s downright maddening. But it is only a game. In my book, making a little while we focus on other, WAY more important issues should be the game plan.

    Hmmmm, might have to sign this as “Bitter in NJ…”

  20. NJShawn said,

    Oh, and by the way…the view is MUCH better from home. And, you won’t have to pay $6 for a flat Coke, $7.50 for a stale batch of warm or cold nachos, or $5.50 for a world’s-worst hot dog. And, you can entertain 50 of your closest friends, and brag all afternoon, “I had tickets to that game, and I sold them for a frickin’ boatload!!”

  21. danielbalc said,

    Shawn, as i was reading your comments I was thinking to myself, ‘bitter cowboy fan” and then next thing i know you confessed it of yourself.

    as for professional sports being all about money, um yeah, that’s why they are called “professional”.

    I think it must be measured according to entertainment dollars.

    On my honeymoon we paid quite a bit of dollars to see Celine Dion and the Phantom of the Opera. Both of these were fantastic shows that have to be seen in person to be truly appreciated. similarly the AFC championship game would be an amazing experience on TV (I remember 94 like it was yesterday). But in person, the experience is amplified 100xs.

    I have never bought into the, “game is better on TV” deal. (Even with HDTV). I have seen tons of games in person and ten times more on TV and there is really no comparison. it doesn’t matter what the sport is, it’s always better to be there in person and experience the excitement.

    BTW, as a former SD resident you are entitled to some bolt bandwagon privileges. Bail out of that sinking cowboys dingy.

  22. NJShawn said,

    Haha…thanks for the life preserver…my disillusionment definitely hit its apex after the Eggles (sick) came into OUR house and blew us away…and the Chargers are still my 3rd place team.

    BTW: I’ve been predicting a SD win in the Big Dance since LT broke the touchdown record(s). They look pretty darn amazing. If they can keep home field, they’ll make it to the SB, and I don’ see anyone in the NFC that can beat ’em.

    With all that being said, and to touch on your reply, ask yourself one question: “When one or both games are over, will I consider the experience to be worth the $1,000 or so profit I could have had in my pocket now?” If the answer is yes, then you should probably go for it.

    But I don’t buy the comparison with a stage play vs. a football game. At a play, you are almost always guaranteed a decent seat/view/audio/visual performance. At a game, you have to deal with crappy food, rude opposing fans, beer fights and profanity (not to mention shirtless, yellow-painted morons), and a hope for at least 1 or two minutes per drive a decent look around 100 yards of your favorite star (if your fricken’ offense can even get into opposing team’s territory). When you’re at home, all that can happen privately!! And you get all that interesting “color” about what a player’s mom is doing, or what girlfriend he’s going, or not going, to date…you know, important stuff, the lifeblood of Football.

    Oh, and I gotta say, allowing money-grubbing attitudes to plague something tagged as “professional” is really bothersome to me. Yes, I believe players should be rewarded for their performance, and yes, teams who invest in their players should also be rewarded. But anymore, no one thinks about THE GAME, they think about themselves and what’s in it for them. A real travesty. In my opinion, the NBA is a perfect example of self-aggrandizement going haywire. I don’t even watch Gangsta-ball anymore, and I’m beginning to see the same marketing idiots attempt the same in the NFL. It’s a real shame.

    Anyway, good luck with your decision; if you do go to the game(s), I hope the Charges win for you.

  23. Albino Hayford said,

    Sigh…Shawn, you and me both know that the Cowboys will reload and blow away Detroit this Sunday. And don’t forget, we play in the NFC (Never Find Consistency), so the Eagles could choke big time against Atlanta, putting us back in the driver’s seat for the playoffs. Cowboy born, Cowboy bred, and when I die, a Cowboy dead. But if they get knocked out, GO CHARGERS, BABEEEEEE!

  24. danielbalc said,

    The NFL was made for people like you Albino. Check out their site designed to teach people how to be bandwagoners

  25. Albino Hayford said,

    Ok, you will NOT believe this, but I took the test and my bandwagon team is THE CHARGERS OF SAN DIEGO! Too funny…

  26. itsasecret said,

    It comes down to how much you need the money, really. At this point, there are very few things I would NOT sell, if the price was right. I’m not sure which is more materialistic: that admission or stating that I would hold on to my “stuff” at all costs. Certain things might be irreplaceable: wedding rings, highly-treasured family heirlooms, etc., I would personally not consider football tickets among them. I do understand the importance of these particular tickets, being a fan myself, but if the price is right and it would offer enough relief from enough bills… I couldn’t see not selling them.

    But! If you decide to keep them, make sure you go and have a blast. Wooooo, Chargers!!!

  27. danielbalc said,

    Looks like I made the wrong decision.

    Someone asked me this morning, “how do feel about the game?” Regrettably I replied, “After a lifetime of it, you kind of get used to it.” I don’t like that because it sounds as though i have become tolerant of a losing culture. I have not; I will not. Rather I will take my cue from the team that was victorious yesterday. The New England fans ought to know that a lifetime (or 2) of failures can quickly be turned around into a series of team successes. Both in baseball and in football they have experienced this. I will remain a die hard fan my whole life, I am certain of that, and I will be rewarded, if not in this life, in the lives of my offspring. My sorrows and trials may be great indeed, but this will only make the ultimate victory that much sweeter. I just hope I get to see it with my own eyes.

  28. Echo_ohcE said,

    Daniel,

    The problem is when something interferes with worship.

    E

  29. danielbalc said,

    Echo,
    Not according to the WCF (Chapter 21point 7).

Leave a Reply

