Prayer works (on the Padres at least)

November 29, 2006 at 3:35 pm (God thoughts, Sports thoughts)

It’s been a very interesting winter for the Padres so far. The releasing of Bruce Bochy, the hiring of Bud Black, the trading of Josh Barfield the acquiring of Kousmanof etc. So far i’ve been very patient with the Padres believing that the overall approach that has led to back to back division championships would continue to produce positive results. Then I saw the news that the Padres had come to a preliminary agreement with free-agent second baseman Craig Counsell… My hands grew cold and clammy, my throat swelled up and my mouth became dry and chalky. I was sick to my stomach for most of the day. I felt like Hezekiah felt when surrounded by the Assyrian armies. I knew the only course of action was to take the sports section of the Union Tribune, spread it out before the Lord and weep.

Alas, God is a good God and the headline this morning was “Counsell spurns SD” ! All I can say is, “thank you Lord!” There is hope. Now lets see if we can pull off a trade for Manny Ramirez.

6 Comments

  1. Aaron said,

    This is a hilarious post . . . I hope no one “spurns” you for it. Counsell didn’t make any sense to me either; I thought they had a plan when they traded Barfield–and Counsell is certainly not a plan.

    I have heard they’re looking into picking up Mulder, perhaps with an incentive-laden deal. In my opinion, this would be a good move as Mulder will cost a lot less than Zito and others and may fulfill the same role as #2 starter.

  2. Daniel B said,

    Absolutley Mulder is the way to go. I have no desire for Zito. I fel like money like that should never be spent on a pitcher but rather on an everyday player. And since the best of them are gone (Soriano, Lee) and for wayyyyy too much I think we should look for trades (ie Ramirez). I don’t really care for the Graffanino rumor, though it’s not terrible. But Loretta is here and wants to play for the Padres. Why not make him an offer?

  3. Albino Hayford said,

    Remember all the “quality for quality” promises back in the 90’s?

    But let’s get back to what really matters…THE NFL BABEEEEE! Chargers and Cowboys on the rise…can it get any better? Yes. Because my fantasy team included Baltimore as my defense…WOW, did I clean up last week.

  4. Daniel B said,

    Don’t get me started about Fantasy. I’m the all time worst coach ever. I’ve lost 4 strait while achieving only about 65% of my potential points. I now need a win and help to make the playoffs next week.

    As for real football I’ve already paid for my playoff tickets. How sweet would it be for the Chargers to host the AFC chamiponship game? Watching LT each week has almost become better than enjoying the weather in San Diego. He’s always 72 degrees and sunshine.

    The boy’s look good but the United States of America Saints seem to have some extra karma (a thing Dallas forfeit when they signed TO).

  5. Albino Hayford said,

    Karma? Karma? Aren’t we Christians? And I don’t think a Charger fan should be talking about a “works-based” Gospel. — Steroids and guns, anyone?

    Speaking of works, giving up your superbowl tickets to a certain preacher from Texas might reap quite a heavenly reward šŸ™‚

  6. Daniel B said,

    The Chargers are victims of frame jobs. It is clear that the NFL hates the Chargers because they are envious of our weather and are trying to force us to build a new Stadium so that we can have the super bowl here every year. They tainted Merriman’s supplements. They hired the psycho Cop who shot Foley. They even went to Keil’s Home and Fed-exed a box of cough syrup to Texas. It’s like living in the Godfather movies only Roger Goodell is playing the role of Marlon Brando. But the Bolt’s keep prevailing!

Leave a Reply

