Why do i want to see the new James Bond movie?

November 15, 2006 at 7:20 pm (God thoughts, Pop thoughts)

I love James Bond movies. I am thoroughly entertained by them. I love on Spike TV how they have Bondathons where they show 15 bond movies back to back. I love the watches with laser beams. I love the hand grenade pens. I love the vodka martinis. I love the gambling. I love the villains. I love the cars. I love the accents. I love the PPK. I love Ian Fleming. I love the exotic locations. I love the chase scenes. I love looking through the barrel of a gun while blood drips down the screen. I love Money Penny. I love M. I love Q. I love the double 0’s. I love the music. I love that the entire world is always at risk. It’s the greatest movie franchise ever. The only way that it could be improved was if the dinosaurs from Jurassic Park got involved somehow.

But I have a problem with James Bond.

No, it’s not his promiscuity, his alcoholism or his murderous tendencies.

Well it kind of is. It’s that I DON’T have a problem with these things that I have a problem with. I can’t help but feel like Mr. Bond is a good guy. Perhaps I feel like he has made restitution for his transgressions by saving the whole world. Of course my theological convictions certainly wouldn’t allow me to repose myself in that thought. Is it merely because I recognize his fictional nature that I am so tolerant of his maleficence’s? I would love to believe that is it, but i tend to think there may, and must be something more. Does the sin nature take a more permissive approach to fantasy then it does to reality? If so then how does that manifest itself in the reality? In other words, if approached by MI-6 to become a double 0 would I jump at the opportunity? Clearly that is a ridiculous example, but how much does my imagination rule my reactions? I remember the story of Robert Hanssen who spied on the US for the price of a mere 1.4 million dollars over a 15 year period. He didn’t really do it for the money, he would later confess, but for the thrill. Was he, like me, a James Bond fan? Am I in danger of being sucked into the intriguing world of espionage, because of Albert Broccoli’s brilliant productions?

This is a deeply disturbing topic for me that raises a myriad of questions about my spiritual being. I am new to the blogging world, but I wonder if perhaps there are people out there who can offer me solutions to this quagmire I am in, or at least empathize and confess their own addictions.

15 Comments

  1. Albino Hayford said,

    James Bond has become predictable and boring. “Nobody did it better” than Roger Moore. All the others have become pretenders.

    As to Bond’s integrity as a man, he is an unregenerate sinner, a slave to his carnal man. He needs Jesus Christ to save him, and fill him with His Holy Spirit, so that Bond can hit the evangelical testimony circuit, appear at Billy Graham crusades, and multiplied millions of dollars with his books and cds.

  2. Alex said,

    You’ve been married for what, a little over a month and you’re already looking for excitement? Give it some time. Just kidding.
    I actually never really got into 007 very much however I have on several occasions tried to imagine what life would be like had I joined the CIA like Jason Bourne.

  3. Albino Hayford said,

    Now you need to add my site to your “blogroll”. When I have confirmed that it is linked, I will add you to my site, and one day we will be rich with amazon.com advertising money. Bwahahahahaha…

  4. danielbalc said,

    Welcome Albino.

  5. danielbalc said,

    Jason Bourne didn’t join the CIA from what I gather. It’s more like he was forced into it through some sick brain manipulation and hypnosis. I wouldn’t want that.

  6. RubeRad said,

    Another way to look at it, Bond satisfies some of the internal thirst for justice that we all have. No doubt about it, Bond kills a LOT of bad guys.

  7. Mighty Josheb said,

    I have never responded to a blog before… This is probably the ‘nerdiest’ thing I have ever done!!!

    If Bond got saved and filled with the Holy Spirit, would he speak in a spiritual language that only God can understand or would it be a ‘known language?’ Seconldy, would he be recieved as a missionary in the Baptist camp? If so, would he be able to carry a weapon on the platform? Third, would “a man should be the husband of one wife” inlude James Bond? Or would he be exempt due to his saving the world over and over and over? Maybe he is Morman. Just checking.

    P.S – Albino Hayford is a Hot Texan!!!!
    Temecula -Mighty Josheb

  8. danielbalc said,

    Excellent Point Rube. But isn’t Bond himself a “bad guy”? Wouldn’t true justice be for him also to face punishment? Is our own “internal thirst for justice” so unjust as to ignore it’s own guilt? I think Bond himself was confronted with this dillema while he sat on a beach in Cuba next to a beautiful russian scientist in a white bikini.

  9. danielbalc said,

    Welcome MJ, the question of Bonds’ qualifications to be a part of the kingdom are irrelevant assuming his salvation experience is genuine. After all Paul was a murderer, David a womanized and Noah an Alcholic. And since Jesus told the disciples to buy a sword I guess he could minister with his PPK. The biggest problem would be if he was in Southern California, because so-cal congergtions simply wouldn’t tolerate his tuxedo and I can’t imagine Bond in a Hawaiian shirt or Jeans.

  10. dado said,

    I cannot believe my son….Daniel…a blog room…sent to the world by OST?
    A blog about Bond? Are you sure being a youth pastor isn’t catching up with you?

  11. danielbalc said,

    Which is greater of the two evils, to blog or to comment on the blog?

  12. Jessica said,

    Hello DAN. I have no comment on James Bond, but I felt bad for not commenting earlier. I have nothing else to say, no clever comment, no interesting thought.

  13. Echo_ohcE said,

    The Bond movie was the best I’d seen in a long time. Excellent. More realistic, more gritty, etc. Great movie. You’ll be glad with it. I was glad I saw it.

    Now Apocalypto on the other hand…

    E

  14. Echo_ohcE said,

    The time and date stamp on my previous post is about 8 hours ahead of the truth.

  15. danielbalc said,

    yeah I loved Bond. It was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

