Stony People

September 10, 2009 at 2:13 pm (God thoughts)

As mentioned a couple of days ago I am attempting a couple of trial posts to see if the Den should remain open.

Today’s post is a brief devotional. Enjoy…

Mark 4:16 “In a similar way these are the ones on whom seed was sown on the rocky places, who, when they hear the word, immediately receive it with joy; 17 and they have no firm root in themselves, but are only temporary; then, when affliction or persecution arises because of the word, immediately they fall away.

When Jesus told his disciples the parable of the sower he was teaching them about people. While it is true that there are rich lessons to be said about the seed = word analogy, it seems the the primary point of the parable is to explain how people respond to the seed/word.

The stony people- The ones that don’t have root. It seems the agricultural analogy that Jesus is telling us about is the part of us that takes in the nutrients necessary for growth.
Some people, stony people, have either shallow roots or no roots at all. And they could possibly be the happiest people in your church. Now this isn’t to say that the contemplative and the cantankerous must by default have deep roots, it’s simply to say that a person’s happiness is not a true indication of their relationship with God.

What is a true indication?

The stony times-
Luke calls it the “time of temptation” (Luke 8:13). Other translations refer to “affliction”, “persecution” and “trouble”. It’s those stony times where things are not going well. Not only are they not going well, but they aren’t going well on account of the word! It’s in those times when we see if the seed/word is really doing it’s work inside of us.

Are you going through times of temptation? Trouble? Affliction?

First of all you need to determine if you are going through those times because of your own wrong doing, or on account of the word. If it’s the former then you deserve it! If it’s the latter than… you still deserve it! But if you have root you will endure it. If you don’t have root, than return to the sower. Return to him who died for your sins. Return to him whose death was described like a seed going into the ground being buried, but whose resurrection life is seen as a flourishing tree that brings forth more and more life.

10 Comments

  1. Bruce S. said,

    I don’t understand the trial post thing. You write it and they will come. Not every post is going to get 100 comments.

    Do you want my comments on this devotional or shall I keep my mouth shut?

  2. itsasecret2u said,

    I always vote for the Den to stay open… unless all the posts are about sports. :)

  3. danielbalc said,

    Bruce, It’s not necessarily about comments. I am checking my stats to see if anybody is actually reading (or clicking). That’s all. I don’t really need any comments. I’m just trying out some different things. I have politics and pop culture up next. I am watching to see which topics get the most traffic.

  4. Wife said,

    Perhaps you should decide what exactly the point of having a blog is. If it is to gain an audience, then you keeping the Den would be determined by who and how many people read it. If it is to write, then it doesn’t matter who or how many people read it.

  5. EscoWhitey said,

    Blogging is dead.

  6. Albino Hayford said,

    I’m thinking about paying more attention to my blog again. I have mostly lived on facebook and twitter recently, and both are extremely valuable for different reasons. But, occasionally, when I want to deal with a topic in-depth, I need to come back to wordpress to do that and not be limited to facebook’s “note” feature.

    In a few days, I will post an article about my mom on the anniversary of her 50 years in ministry and see how many hits that gets.

    No, I don’t think blogging is dead; it’s just not the only show in town anymore.

  7. EscoWhitey said,

    Only one comment since September 18.

    Blogging IS dead.

  8. Valerie said,

    I agree 100% w/ Athena.

  9. Beth Ward said,

    Daniel,

    My blog suffered when I joined the FB revolution which coincided with my return to the paid workforce. Maybe your blogging suffered because of outside influences, or maybe you didn’t have a focus for your blog and suffered extreme writer’s block while waiting for ideas. I battle with writer’s block frequently, because part of me KNOWS I’m supposed to write, but I don’t necessarily have ideas for my writing. I know everything I think and I don’t find it that interesting, or perhaps not interesting enough to write about.

    When you were writing regularly, I was reading regularly. As your posts dropped off, I did too. I REALLY enjoy reading what you write (even if I am limited to status updates).

  10. Laura said,

    I ditto Beth’s last paragraph…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

